hate in my heart – still

Thank you to everyone that commented and/or offered advice on my last entry. I really do appreciate you taking the time to offer insite and suggestions based on your own personal experiences with "baby mama drama" – or life in general.

I was a little surprised as it was fairly obvious several people didn’t read the whole entry – which is fine but…it changes the relevance of the comment if the entry wasn’t read in it’s entirety. An example is someone pointing out that my hatred for Chewie’s ex must be based on my insecurities and jealousy. Yup. You got it. It sure is. I said it right there in the entry, and then I listed all the reasons why I was insecure; which I happen to think are pretty valid.

I guess the only other thing I will say on the topic is that in spite of my deep and painful hatred of this woman, it has not affected my relationship with Isaiah. He is not exposed to my struggles. I am a better person than that. I never – EVER speak poorly of her to or around Isaiah (but unfortunately, she doesn’t hold herself to the same standards and constantly says hateful things to Isaiah about me…), And I never don’t do anything because of her, nor do I love him any less or different because of her. The only thing I struggle with is going to events that she is at. Yes, in the long run he will notice and might wonder, and I am praying that by then I have this all worked out inside of me and am able to go and support him and cheer for him and share his special moments. I go to everything I possibly can when I know she won’t be there. So for the time being, no harm, no foul. Unfortunately, because of how manipulative Isaiah’s mom is, and because of the hateful lies she tries to fill Isaiah’s head with about me, he would be put into a very difficult situation if we were both to be at the same event. As many of you accurately mentioned, Isaiah will eventually know who and what a mother is. But right now, he may think that if he interacts with me when his mom is in the room that she will be angry with him. She has put him in the middle.  I would hate to see him have to negotiate that. And, at the end of the day, if and when that DOES happen, I will make sure that he knows after-the-fact that he doesn’t have to worry about me, and if he wants to wait and talk to me until after the event, I am okay with that.

I know and believe I have every right to harbor a fair amount of anger towards her because of how harmful her parenting is to her child – a child I happen to care deeply about; what she has done to the love of my life and what she continues to try to do; and for some of the direct interactions I have had with her in the past. I am sorry but I just can’t figure out how to forgive someone who is a bad parent. I can’t forgive someone that is only selfishly motivated and does not make decisions based on what is best for a child rather than their own personal gain. Actually, it’s not that I can’t figure out how to forgive someone that causes deep and irrepairable damage to a child – it’s that I WON’T. Forgiveness is not what I need here. All I need is to learn how to build strength in my own heart to go on coping with her existence with grace and in a way that doesn’t impact Isaiah. If one day she has an awakening and becomes a mother and starts acting as such, fogiveness might be possible. But right now, as I watch first hand how she damages her child in many ways – not just as it pertains to me – forgiveness is not an option.

Coping is. And I have coped so far. And I will continue to cope. And I will continue to be there for Isaiah and love him and know that I do the very best I can to be like a mother to him. And have faith that he will one day understand and appreciate having me as a part of his life. But because I am human, I struggle and I get weak. And I wonder why I am a better parent to Isaiah than she is. I hope for his sake that she figures everything out before it’s too late – and so do I.

——

For the good news, there was a slight turn of events at work yesterday. My boss called me into his office and offered me a raise. It was so nice to be recognized for the hell I have been through with all the corporate changes and for the fact that I now do the job of three different people rolled into one, thus saving the company at least $150,000.  It wasn’t as much about the money as it was about the recognition and appreciation. When my position was eliminated and I was hired into a different position, I took on another full time position while continuing to do all of my past duties – and for exactly the same pay. That never made sense to me. I was going to ask for a raise at my review in June, but my boss beat me to it. It makes it a little but easier to do a job every day that otherwise stresses me out.

I had watched the new show "Undercover Boss" after the superbowl Sunday night. There was a woman on there that had similar circumstances to mine: she was doing three or four different jobs due to the company eliminating positions. When the CEO found out about it, he gave her a raise and told her she could hire a couple assistants. When that happened on the show, Chewie turned to me and said "I wish your boss would do that for you, honey." The next day I got a raise. The money is much appreciated in light of the fact that Chewie has now been unemployed from the construction field for over 2 years. He is still scraping to get by and struggling to get income. He has a part time position that pays about a fifth of what he made in construction, (and also less than he got when he was on unemployment) but he is doing the best he can.

I feel blessed.

Log in to write a note
February 9, 2010

OMG. I suck at life. I never came back and commented on the last entry. Obviously you are a bigger person than Lyndsey. She is a petty, crappy person who is raising Isaiah in a HORRIBLE way and she doesn’t understand what kind of person this may make him in the future. I’m so glad that you’re a bigger person…no matter how hard it may be. I couldn’t imagine putting my pride in front of punching the bitch in the face and telling her exactly what I thought of her. You’re an amazing person and as long as Isaiah has you in his life, he’s got a reallly good chance of being an amazing man. We watched part of that Undercover Boss and it was really interesting to see the end results. I can’t wait to see the Hooters one this Sunday. I’m so glad your hard work was recognized and it was nice of your boss to reward you with a raise! I hope Chewie can get a job this summer!

February 9, 2010

i personally think forgiveness is overrated. some people just don’t deserve it. i think you’re doing great.

February 9, 2010

I don’t really have any good words of advice as far as the baby mama drama goes. I know how all consuming hate can be, especially when you feel like you’re the one being the bigger, better person. Obviously karma is paying you back with the pay raise! Congrats!

February 9, 2010
February 10, 2010

From Chewie’s lips to God’s ear, huh? :)) congrats on the raise! I really don’t think forgiveness is warranted in the situation with Isaiah’s…um…”mother”. I think you hit the nail on the head when you said “All I need is to learn how to build strength in my own heart to go on coping with her existence with grace and in a way that doesn’t impact Isaiah.” You ARE the better person. She is a terrible mother and she WILL regret it one day. If you can just rise above her petty bullshit you’ll be ok. I know it’s not easy. I had to deal with one of those myself. It was awful and hard. But we deal, right? I think that Isaiah will realize someday what a role you are playing in his life. **hugs**

Mns
February 10, 2010

congrats on the raise! 🙂

February 11, 2010

As you say, eventually Isaiah will notice your absence at some events. The explanation need not be extensive: “I know your Mom doesn’t like me very much, so rather than take the chance that she might get upset, I’ll just come to the ones she can’t make it to. Okay?” From all you’ve told us, he should be fine with that. As for being the better person, you just are, whether you want to be or not…

February 11, 2010

and although I won’t pretend to know where the strength to be that comes from, I know it’s always there. Even when it doesn’t feel like it. It’s a common trait among Better People. The strength to do what needs doing (or saying or not doing or saying) is just always there when it’s needed. Congrats on the raise! In a grander cosmic scale, it’s probably tied to being a Better person, even though

February 11, 2010

the connection isn’t readily apparent. God said, this girl needs to be rewarded. And so your boss was given a really good idea.

February 13, 2010

Wishing you and Chewy a beautiful and love filled Valentine’s day.

February 19, 2010

I hate Dave’s ex too because of what she does to him. I think at some points that hate is justified even though good people like us don’t like feeling that way towards anyone…but we are human and we are protective of those that we love. *hugs* Ryn: You are right, I would have regretting going. Though I still don’t have any answers. =(

February 23, 2010

I can’t tell you how many times I have heard this similar story my friend. I have a few friends going through the exact same thing as you and my hear breaks for you all. It is an amazing thing to take on someone else’s child as if they were your own and have that unconditional love for them no matter what and just to not be appreciated for it is enough to make you want to spit! You are the better

February 23, 2010

person and I have always lived by this alone through my seperation with my ex. Someone once told me that Everything comes out in the wash! And for you to be the bigger better person, Isaiah will as he gets older understand and appreciate it! It may take a while to get the justification and appreciation that you deserve but it will happen! She is haning her self girl…let her! Stay Strong

RYN: You’re very right about addictions- the desire to quit has to come from within before you can do anything. The funny thing is, I wrote that entry for a few specific OD friends, and it blew up into this huge thing- I got so many notes from people who felt encouraged.. I’m glad I wrote it now. Of course, there were a couple of unkind notes, as well, but that’s to be expected, I suppose.

The comments I made about weight were personal- I used to have a really hard time with being overweight. It took me forever to figure out what I was doing, and quite a while longer to figure out how to stop. I ate when I was sad, when I was happy, when I was bored.. I ate instead of dealing with anything. It can be just as bad as smoking. Anyway, thanks for your notes, and I wish you well.