My Brooklyn

Five years ago, when I’d tell people I grew up in Brooklyn, I’d get a nod behind which was mostly blankness – Brooklyn’s one of those boroughs next to Manhattan right? These days, when people hear Brooklyn, their eyes light up – whether with mild awe or indignation, they all know what I’m talking about, right? I’m not so sure… 

I recently came across this humorous map (see below). Although it’s clearly made to illustrate a different point, it inadvertently highlights something many people don’t understand. Look at that little map in the corner – hipster nation is only a tiny part of Brooklyn! And while I can (sort of? kind of?) understand why this particular area is making such a splash, it bothers me that all of a sudden it represents all of Brooklyn. What about all the other thriving neighborhoods that have been "doing their thing," so to speak, for years and have a much richer history?  I understand these neighborhoods are not as "happening," but hipster meccas like Williamsburg exists in many cities (granted on a smaller scale), whereas you’d be hard pressed to find another Brighton Beach or Coney Island anywhere else. Just sayin.  
 
 brooklandia_fullhttp://www.refinery29.com/brooklandia

Log in to write a note
December 1, 2013

Ha! I like “The Aging Hipster” baby namesÂ…and everything else.

December 4, 2013

Thanks for your note. When I hear Brooklyn I think of all the kids named that. It seems to have become a trend.

December 12, 2013

It’s so funny that Brooklyn’s become a thing. I think it’s a nice place to be from. And yes – Coney Island…I’m obsessed!