Troubling…..

I have saved these words for a long time and why now do they seem so appropriate:

 

In 1976, Taylor Caldwell summarized the Iron Mountain Report: "There will be no peace in the tormented world, only a programmed and systematic series of wars and calamities – until the plotters have gained their objective: an exhausted world willing to submit to a PLANNED Marxist economy and total and meek ENSLAVEMENT – in the name of PEACE."

In 1967, Report from Iron Mountain, said to be the anonymous work of John Kenneth Galbraith, stated: "It may be…that gross POLLUTION of the environment can eventually replace the possibility of mass destruction by nuclear weapons as the principal APPARENT threat to the survival of the species."

I have come to the conclusion that  unless each and every American steps forward and agrees to change  their attitudes toward spending, none of us will see any change.  I also think sometimes that maybe that effort is fruitless because ‘thebadguys" have us so entrenched in the mire of worthless money that maybe we will never recover in my lifetime….yuk…that’s when I feel Ms. Janet Taylor Caldwells words are so appropriate…

Mr Obama has almost an unsurmountable job if we don’t all rally and force our representatives and senators to get a grip!

The mentality of "I can have it all." was perpetuated  by the dishonorable money brokers to lure people into thinking there is a silver lining where all there troubles would be over if they bought a home ever bigger then in the real world they could ever afford….It was told to me that now we have to get back to the reality of "the down payment."  Folks that is not a new concept to me….and mine….I have always practiced…"if times go bad can we afford this house."’  False values of housing have driven us to this state we are in now….and I don’t profess to even have an inkling of a way out of the mess….I can just hope that this young man does have the wherewithal to tackle the tasks at hand..

Friends, all in all have a wonderful weekend….

Ollie

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 22, 2008

This is a very wisdom-filled entry, and I agree with you. If we can all learn how to live in a more wholesome (less materials-oriented) way, that can mean that the end result of this current crisis is a WONDERFUL transformation for our nation! So the question is, can we do it? If necessity has to force us to, then that could be a good thing. blessings,

November 22, 2008

I don’t know if Obama can get us out of this mess that Bush has gotten us in; but if anyone can, it will be him. Foreclosures all around me…

November 22, 2008

Well, those seem pretty dire to me, not your advice but those quotations. That said, I think we are in a terrible state and it will take not only every citizen being accountable but every civic servant and each business from top to bottom. Like you, we have bitten the bullet time after time as needed and could do it again–could our younger generations, however? We know how and have seenour parents and their parents do it…some of the bulk of our young working people have not seen it, don’t have the skills. I’m worried, too.

November 22, 2008

Interesting to learn of Glabraith’s 1967 report but not surprising. There were many of us back then who were considering stupid naeve troublemakers for such statements, but the writing was on the wall then. I am more sceptical about Taylor Caldwell’s assertion though, it reaks of religious bias, bigotry and fear. You are right, the changes must come from individuals…too much expectation of one human ‘leader’ is unfair, and a cop-out. I am sure Obama will do a great job, but unless and until prejudice and fear is elminated from human nature, and the oneness of humanity realised…peace will continue to be elusive. But one day… it will come. Not in our lifetime though, I’m sure. hugs P

congress really let things get out of control didn’t they. And made it even worse with the bailout. Maybe they’ll get it back together someday but as we changed the presidential party there needs to be a lot of changes made in congress. The party in control for the last few years hasn’t done much.

He is going to need the prayers of your nation and the world. What a great entry.

November 24, 2008

Aloha… I am a bit more optimistic… I think that in a couple of years… we will look back on this… and say “Whew… I’m sure glad that’s behind us”… Ryn: Yeah… I’m doing okay… and thanks for the T’giving wish… Me ke aloha…