A Journey Through Time: Exploring the Ancient Ruins of Sonargaon

On the morning of June 8, 2017, I woke up with a sudden urge to travel. Though I had always been fascinated by the idea of exploring new places, I had never quite acted on it. But on this day, I was determined to make it happen.

I had planned a trip to Sonargaon, an ancient city in Bangladesh with a rich history and cultural significance. Despite waking up late, I quickly got ready and made my way to the Taj Mahal Road bus stand. After a long wait in traffic, I finally boarded a B.R.T. Sidha Sonargaon AC bus and got off at Mograpara intersection.

The day was hot and humid, but my excitement kept me going. I grabbed some food and hailed an auto-rickshaw to take me to the city entrance gate. As I arrived, I was immediately struck by the beauty and grandeur of the ancient ruins that lay before me.

I started my exploration by visiting the Panam City, a once-bustling trading center that now lay in ruins. Despite the decay and dilapidation, the buildings still exuded a sense of history and prestige. As I walked through the narrow alleys and pathways, I felt transported back in time, imagining what life must have been like during the city’s heyday.

Next, I visited the Folk Art and Craft Museum, which housed a stunning collection of traditional Bangladeshi handicrafts and artworks. I spent hours admiring the intricate designs and vibrant colors of the exhibits, feeling a deep appreciation for the rich cultural heritage of the region.

As the day wore on, the heat and humidity became more oppressive, but I refused to let it dampen my spirit of adventure. I pressed on, determined to see as much of Sonargaon as possible.

Finally, as the sun began to set, I made my way back to the entrance gate, feeling a deep sense of satisfaction and fulfillment. I had experienced something truly special, and the desire to travel had taken hold of me like never before. I knew that this trip was just the beginning of many more adventures to come.

Log in to write a note