Breaking Bad (Not Really Spoilers or Triggers) *

Finale opinion:

Meh.

Like honestly the things I loved about the show were how wildly unpredictable the characters were sometimes, how the situation flew apart at the seams despite everyone’s best planning, and how they eventually made you understand and believe every twist and turn.

Finale was kinda… I mean yeah I said no spoilers but I’m gonna talk about the general feel/direction, ‘kay?

It felt predictable, too straightforward.  Like "hey these things make sense to wrap it up" and that was it.  And there were no genuinely emotional scenes, either.  None of the gut-wrenching stuff of the last couple seasons, where you just see the look on someone’s face and your heart breaks for them.

The  finale didn’t break my heart, or make me angry or really make me feel much of anything other than… a general sense of closure and hopefulness for the remaining characters.

But whatevs!  One episode out of however-the-fuck-many is not really gonna destroy what makes the show amazing.

Not excited about an open-ended spinoff, though.  Eff that noise.  No matter how much I may Saul, a quirky show where he helps zany criminals out of tight squeezes that they could easily stretch to the point of utter unoriginality… Why we gotta take a dump on the best 5 seasons to happen to television in the last 20 years?

So, yeah, that.

Other random shit going through my head today because I’m tired of data entrying…

Ah, the new temp to replace the old temp who didn’t know how to use a computer?  Yeah, she doesn’t know how to use a computer either.

It’s SO WEIRD, man, because apparently she was in ACCOUNTING before this job.  That’s way heavier on the computer familiarity/terminology and stuff than this job, and yet she keeps locking herself out of everything because she can’t remember her passwords.  Or can’t type them correctly.

After she’d been here 3 or 4 days, I heard this exact conversation happen:

"No no, don’t just hit enter again.  It’s telling you that either your password or login is incorrect.  This means you have to change one of them to get in."

Today, a week later, she locked herself out of her computer and had to call IT.  While on the phone with them, she told them that Theresa, her trainer, had "reset it" the last time.  Theresa has explained in great detail during the many password issues they’ve had that she CANNOT reset passwords, because she doesn’t have the authority.

Theresa has to take the phone and explain to the IT guy that she didn’t reset the password, she restarted the computer.  "Yes… correct… no, I think it’s just the terminology…"

Then when she got off the phone, New Temp was like "So what happened?  It shut it all off?"

"No, it didn’t shut it off.  It locked you out, like it said in the message, for typing your password too many times."

And like, she doesn’t understand that a window has to be active for you to copy text from it.  That Ctrl + C won’t work if it’s no longer your active window.

Soooo, I no longer believe this person worked in accounting, at least not in the last 20 years, and I feel like the last one lied about her computer experience as well.  It’s… confusing.  I heard Scott have a freakin’ 20-minute-long phone conversation with the temp agency, explaining in detail why the last one didn’t work out, citing examples of her gaps in knowledge, and then later he did a phone interview with the new temp and somehow through this whole process THEY SENT SOMEONE WITH 0% COMPUTER EXPERIENCE AGAIN WTFFFF.

Honestly I think she probably took a typing class or something, because she’s not hunt-and-pecking it, but it’s just so weird to think these people are straight-up inventing job experience and program knowledge, thinking they can just fake their way into how to use Windows when they’ve clearly never had to at a job before.

Like, I fake it all the goddamn time, but that’s because I already know how to do things like Google it when I can’t figure it out, and I have a general intuitive understanding of how buttons, keys, and windows work.  THAT’S REALLY ALL IT TAKES, GUYS.  We’re not asking you to send us freaking programmers, for frig’s sake!  Just someone who understand the concept of a visual OS!  THEY DON’T EVEN NEED TO KNOW IT’S CALLED AN OS, CHRIIIIIIST.

And the worst part is, it might not be the temps’ faults at all.  They might just be getting dispatched to jobs that are clearly, frustratingly outside their expertise.  It makes Theresa lose her patience and it makes them feel stupid and it’s just lose-lose.

I feel like this temp agency is just total freakin’ balls, and I wish they’d just go back to using mine because they kick ass at matching employees and employers.

At the very least, you take basic knowledge tests in common programs and can be matched on that criteria.

Friggin frigs.

So, yeah, that too.

There was something else.

Oh yeah, Jamie my friend/enabler/part-time dealer?  I guess she’s not drinking anymore.

This is a damn good thing, as she was blacking out something like once a week or two, and has been an alcoholic for a long time.  But it’s super effin’ weird because she’s never really implied she thinks she might have a *problem*.  I mean, sometimes when she blacks out she’s like "I shouldn’t drink that much" but a few days later she tells another blackout story like it’s fun and silly and nothing to worry about.

I’m just assuming something went down with her kids.  That’s all I can think would trigger this. She loves the crap out of her kids and I can’t even imagine her allowing this to affect them–she only has them on the weekends and I just don’t even see her abusing substances around them–but I can’t think of anything else that would trigger it.

Though she did say she CAN’T drink anymore–maybe it’s health issues?

Actually, shit son, that makes more sense than anything.  She’s got some health problems as it is, and considering the amount she drinks (and she used to take a lot of painkillers for her fibromyalgia), she might have torched her liver.

I’m hanging out with her tonight, most likely getting properly stoned for the first time in a month-ish, and talking it out.

I hope she’s doing alright.

And Betsy, my old work friend (and another borderline alcoholic), apparently moved back to Seattle.  That’s a story for a different unnecessarily long and boring entry, BAMO.

 

 

 

EDIT: Ughhhhhhhh the temp was just asking how to lock her computer.  Scott said hit control alt delete, and she was like, really?  Are you sure?  So she asks me, and I’m like… Yeah, control alt delete, and then… Wait,so… You’re trying to LOCK your computer, right? As in, you need to type a login and password to get it working again?  "Yes."  Or are you trying to SHUT DOWN your computer? "Yes, I’m going home."

aaaagggghhhhhhHHGHGHFHAFDDKS THOSE ARE DIFFERENT THINGS DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND THE CONCEPT OF

ELECTRICITY NO LONGER CIRCULATING THROUGH A COMPUTER VS. NEEDING A PASSWORD TO LOG INTO A PIECE OF SOFTWARE LDHKLXZSAAQQHYESZLFJKBDGLN

So  I guide her to the freaking start menu ,which she DOESN’T KNOW HOW TO GET TO–oh! oh! AFTER telling her how to get out of the Ctrl Alt Delete menu screen, using that giant CANCEL button!!!–and tell her to click the button that says "shut down."

Like, seriously, guys.

What.

The.

Fuck.

And she, much like the previous temp, seems BLISSFULLY UNAWARE that it’s unusual to NOT have this knowledge?

OH AND SHE THINKS THE COMPUTER BROKE WHEN SHE LOCKED HERSELF OUT EARLIER.  Like, she has no idea that this was because she typed her password in one too many times!  SHE THINKS THE COMPUTER FROZE EVEN THOUGH THERESA AND TECH SUPPORT EXPLAINED IT SEVERAL TIMES kghsgSKGJLHAELUGTUIAErGFGELARKULGWLFKGRWELTUIGSLUAG *suicide*

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2013

God, I have NO patience for people who can’t work a computer. This comic was the first thing I thought of when I read your entry: http://i.imgur.com/6ETb4.gif I agree with your assessment of the BB finale, but I liked it all the same. I’m glad they at least wrapped up everything to where it made sense and still had it be a compelling bit of television, you know?

October 3, 2013

Apparently, after the end of BB, tons of people tweeted Damon Lindelof about LOST and how fucking shitty the finale of LOST was & how the BB finale was how you were supposed to end it etc etc. I mean, it’s kind of shitty that LOST ended how many years ago and people are STILL shitting on the finale in a big way but at the same time, hell, people INVESTED their time on it only for it to go nowhere.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaggghhhh. (I just realized how often I start notes on your entries with that ^ or similar. Shows how many frustrating situations you have to deal with I guess.) The most baffling thing about it is that… EVERYONE has a computer. EVERYONE uses the internet, unless they’re 90, and even then they still manage to get on once in awhile to forward email chains to theirgrand kids. So HOW does this person not understand the most BASIC computer functions??

October 3, 2013

Yeah. Computers. ~I’ll be

re: Oh, Craig doesn’t have a single problem with marriage, and has told me he wants to marry me someday. He’s just all weird about the “when.” He got it in his head that I want it RIGHT NOW, which I don’t, and I think he feels bad that he’s making me wait so he’s constantly reminding me of it, so I don’t get my hopes up? It’s silly. But yeah, definitely wants to marry me – it’s not at all something I’d have to “trap” him into. He’s just very insistent about it being a long time from now. And I’m like, dude! That’s fine! Quit telling me that over and over, I get it! I think you’re right though about other guys. I guess it’s a weird psychological knee-jerk thing that happens with some of them, to instinctively clam up and resist when the M word is mentioned, even if he’d happily do it of his own accord. I think they’re told from a young age that every woman is out to “trap” them so you better be on your guard. Fucking messed up.

Oh, and FUCK THAT SHIT ABOUT THE SIMS. There are DIFFERENT kinds of fun games – Sims is fun in a different way from how, say, Call of Duty is fun, but it’s still FUN. I’m not raging at you about this, I’m raging at those idiots who say stuff like that. And oh hey, assholes, here’s a thought: WHY IS A GAME BAD JUST BECAUSE IT’S GIRLY, HMM? *feminist-raaaaage*