Improving Ourselves: There’s No Such Thing as Normal

What does it mean to be “normal”?

We’ve been thinking about this a lot recently – some of that spurred by walking on crowded city streets, where we can see thousands of people in a few minutes and every single one of them is different from the other. But there’s a more important facet of that realization – not only is every single person in the world different from the other, but this also forces the truth that there is no such thing as “normal” when it comes to humans.

 

We all spend so much time and effort and money in our lives to try to appear that we “fit in” – but if we are all truly unique and different, then it’s important to realize that there is no “standard” that we can ever fit all human beings into. Realizing this is something we struggle with all the time – we change our appearance, change our belongings, change our attitudes, all in a quest to be like others.

There’s an interesting read from Sara Fabian over on Tiny Buddha – There’s No Such Thing As Normal (and Other Lessons From Living Abroad). Sara talks a lot about the different cultural norms she experienced while living overseas – and how her reactions to those forced her to evaluate some of her prejudices. The key thing she learned, it seems, is that even if another person’s behavior doesn’t fit her idea of “normal” that doesn’t make it “wrong”.

We can apply this thinking to our interactions with other humans, but more importantly we can use it to change how we think about ourselves. If there is no “normal” that we should be trying to fit ourselves into, aren’t there much better things we can be doing for ourselves and for others with all that time and effort?

Recent scientific studies have even taken this to a deeper level, to ask the question – is there a “normal” way to think? It turns out, as published by Science News – When it comes to our brains, there’s no such thing as normal.

We’ve all had that “crazy” aunt or uncle or friend – who everybody looked up to, because they were different and proud of it. They were comfortable enough in their own skins that they would do and say what they wanted – and the rest of the world could either come along for the ride, or be left behind.

So if we can break ourselves from the idea that there are “normal” ways that we should think, and act, and behave – it can be a good thing for both us and the world around us. Isn’t it better to be remembered as that person who stood out, than to be remembered as the one who blended in?

 

part of a continuing series on Improving Ourselves

 

Log in to write a note
May 11, 2018

I guess you’d have to know me. I think that the primary product of the public school system is an educated adult, but a secondary goal is to standardize behaviors and social constructs. As such, “successful” students are not only more book smart than less educated compatriots, they are also more invested in the idea of standardized social and familial structures.

 

I was NEVER good at being mainstream. For me, the misfits and oddballs always felt like a safer group to me. I have also never been traditionally successfully as an offshoot.

I think if one aligns the concepts of “normal” and “success,” I am a weirdo and a failure. But if seen through my lens, that is “experience,” “love,” and “novelty” equal success, then I have done just fine. Since I DO correlate experience, love, novelty and success, I am just exactly fine with my brand of weird.

May 11, 2018

@e3 that’s awesome!

May 11, 2018

@opendiarystaff – Thanks!

 

–Morticia

May 11, 2018

I love that Morticia Addams quote. I’ve known since 1985 that normal is a word that is mostly destructve. As I grew up, people also learned they could tell me things and I wouldn’t blab, so I learned no one feels normal, internally. It is a concept I removed from my life long ago. I’m on board with this theme!

May 13, 2018

@poisonnoir that’s exactly right, the removal from your life of that concept is very important.

May 11, 2018

Um, yeah. You know that “We’ve all had that “crazy” aunt or uncle or friend” you talked about. At some point in my 50s, I became that person and as life has doled out incredible challenges that I conquered one by one, I became fearless. In my younger years, I feared public speaking. Now I embrace it and actually enjoy making everybody listen to ME. LOL!
You learn, after a time, that your own authentic self is exactly perfect. The book sounds great. I’ll look for it.

May 13, 2018

@mamablue that is so true!

Te
May 19, 2018

Hello, Boss!

My first couple accounts were on freeopendiary.com, for reference.

The biggest things that I feel should be a-listed for implementation are a confirmation for reporting/muting/blocking, and functionality for private responses to others from your own post.

I’m sure that you guys have plenty that you are working on, though time spent in these areas could potentially save a greater amount of time for yourselves and others.

Also, thank you so much for providing me, and countless others, with an opportunity to revive past memories and connections.

That in itself is an invaluable feat.

Thank you again, for your time,  consideration, and generosity. <3

May 22, 2018

@te thank you very much for the suggestions, those are all things that are on the list – but you make a good point that they should have a high priority. Thanks!