How to annoy your younger brother with whom you have nothing in common (except politics, which is a pretty significant commonality)

I had of a brief phone conversation earlier today with my younger brother, who was clearly exasperated into sullenness by my immediate jokiness and corny conviviality. I do like to joke around when I talk to him because he really doesn’t “get” my humor, mostly.

After asking him what he was up to, he replied that he’d just gotten back from doing some shopping at Wal-Mart.

I asked him, innocently, what he had purchased. He basically said, to the effect of, “just a bunch of nothing.”

“Oh, come on, tell me everything you bought!” I inquired brightly. (Just kidding, of course, but he thought I really wanted to know, which of course, since I like to wallow in minutia, I was sorta/kinda curious).

This all stems from an admittedly annoying habit I have of my cataloging all my purchases from Dollar Tree, which I pour out to him on the phone to his endless and rather hilarious frustration and anger.

“Oh, and do you want to know what I bought at Tuesday Morning?” (Which is right next store, so why not indulge a bit there, too?)

“NO!” he literally snarled this time.

His phone has a glitch he won’t get fixed and only works on speaker, so his partner hears whatever she wants.

So, going back to this afternoon, I asked her to tell me what he bought.

She semi plays along. “It’s really just ordinary stuff,” she kindly assured me.

“Oh, please tell me!”

By this time my brother is not only snarling, but growling, and I realized my humor is inexplicably wearing thin.

Then, to add insult to injury, I told him that I had taken some boxes of books and “things” (Dollar Tree knick-knacks, etc.) to my storage unit, and felt I could reward myself, so I bought a vintage/antique-looking clock at Michael’s craft store.

“HOW MANY CLOCKS DO YOU HAVE?” he practically yelled.

I knew at that point he once again would not understand. I won’t bother you with my answer to his question, which was a good one, and so funny. (Trying for a little levity to defuse his now intense level of exasperation).

However, when I think about it, I am a bit embarrassed about the reason I got this particular clock. Suffice it to say, it was quite indicative of just how peculiarly eccentric I am, but in a good way, of course.

Okay, I’ll explain. I’m one of those people who rarely if ever looks at the time on his phone. I have to have a watch on when I’m out and about. In my apartment, I need small, battery-powered clocks in every room so I can always see what time it is. I had two in the living room, until the other day when I got that third vintage clock.

I have a coffee table between two sofas that are perpendicular to each other. A clock faces me about five feet away so I can easily see the time when I’m sitting on that sofa. However, I spend the bulk of my time when in the living room lying comfortably reading on the other sofa, my head resting on a large and very comfortable pillow. The only problem was, I couldn’t see the clock, which faced the other direction toward the first sofa I mentioned.

How to solve the dilemma? The answer came like a flash of genius. I would simply buy another small clock, around the same size, and put it back to back with the first clock so that when I got up from one sofa and went to lie down on the other one, I wouldn’t have to turn the first clock around to face me when I was all nice and comfy.

I told my brother all this and was met by silence on the other end. He was suddenly speechless, for some odd reason.

Log in to write a note
February 1, 2023

Perhaps it’s the way you’ve expressed this, but I don’t think deliberately annoying your brother is conducive to a good relationship. It sounds a bit disrespectful of his feelings. We younger brothers get a lot of dismissive “attitude” from older siblings when we are young, and it often continues into adulthood.

February 1, 2023

@solovoice

I suppose if I had not mentioned that it was my younger brother you would not have felt so aggrieved for all younger brothers everywhere.  Actually, he’s my only brother, he gets his share of digs at me, and we’ve been carrying on this kind of banter for ages. We still love each other and talk on the phone almost every day.  He’s my only family for 3,000 miles.  90 percent of it is self-deprecation on my part.  He knows it, but I shouldn’t “annoy” him at those times he doesn’t particularly appreciate my poking fun at myself, because that’s really all it is.

February 1, 2023

@oswego Again…perhaps it’s how you expressed it along with my own interpretation. The written word doesn’t always express nuance. Unfortunately, my relationship with my siblings is virtually nonexistent, though I wish it were otherwise.

February 2, 2023

@solovoice You sound like you perhaps know the reasons for this estrangement from your siblings and have accepted that fact reluctantly.  Is there the possibility of reconciliation? Have you written about this to gain some measure of release from the burden you evidently carry?

February 2, 2023

@oswego The estrangement, particularly from my sister, has been long in coming and involves her intrusive and abusive treatment of my wife ever since we started dating. We have forgiven time and again in the past, but the last incident blind-sided us and was the proverbial last straw. There isn’t much hope for a reconciliation. My brother is less of a problem in that he doesn’t actively set out to cause distress, but he does tend to play the “older brother” card, and is also a rabid right-wing Christian Republican, whom I have no doubt would have been at the Capitol on Jan. 6 (his son and grandson were there, though they left before the riot). Both he and his wife are racists. There simply isn’t much common ground, though we can talk “shop” since we both have an interest in video production and technology. Invariably, the conservation turns offensive, particularly if my sister-in-law is in attendance.
I haven written unsent letters as a form of therapy, recommended by a therapist. I can’t tell you the toll of being abusive emotionally by my siblings has had on my wife. I know most people think there are two sides to every story, but we three were reared by a mother who had severe psychological problems which crippled the three of us. I can only say that I’ve been working very hard on my own problems and would be in therapy if finances permitted. I rarely say anything about these things in public since family matters, I believe, should be private. I have written some about it here on OD because it’s virtually anonymous, and I also have one or two close friends who know the full story.

February 1, 2023

I laughed out loud. This is perhaps the most entertaining and funny entry you’ve ever written. You must have taken a happy pill that day. LOL

February 2, 2023

@startingover_1 Oh my…. Thank you!  This  was fun to write because, as I mentioned in another note, I love to poke fun at myself.  Oftentimes when I do this my brother thinks it’s sorta sad and does not appreciate the great humor in self-deprecation.  That’s how I stay relatively sane!!  Lol

February 7, 2023

It is good to see lightheartedness flowing back into you after your long dark season of caregiving. Keep it up! Your brother will survive it.

February 9, 2023

@icarusknew Thank you!  Yes, he will.  Humor and laughter are what keep me going!  There is no better antidote to aging and depression!