Shadows, reflections, clouds and light: afternoon walks at the state park are always memorable

 

There is a serene and settled majesty to woodland scenery they enters into the soul and delights and elevates it, and fills it with noble inclinations.

Washington Irving

The soul that sees beauty may sometimes walk alone.

Goethe

There are moments when all anxiety and stated toil are becalmed in the infinite leisure and repose of Nature.

Henry David Thoreau

I love to go to the state park near me late in the afternoon when the sun is lower in the sky and the shadows, clouds and light are just right for my pensive states of mind on those occasions. I just returned home from such a walk, and luckily there were still abundant blooms of sasanqua camellias everywhere for my camera to record. I would say I had a very productive photo walk today. The weather was just wintry cool enough, with temps in the mid 50s and a very slight breeze.

Out there I wandered the trails, lost in thought with my camera at hand, delighting in the quiet and peace, and marveling that such a sanctuary is so close by and in the middle of the city. I have my favorite nooks, crannies and benches along the trail and the photos I am including below will take you along with me to those special places.

I come to this place often, and there is never a time by the small ponds or marsh, or in the gardens, when I am not surprised and humbled by the beauty of camellias, or live oaks and Spanish moss, and impressionistic images of tree or cloud reflections in the water, . A slight breeze always gives them a painterly effect.

Along the banks of the ponds, shadows are deep, and the the sunlight just beyond is lost in the shade.

I sit down on a bench and have a drink of water. A timeless, tranquil feeling envelops me, but I am roused from my reverie by the plop of an acorn dropping from an overhanging live oak, creating expanding circles on the surface of the water.

I pack up and leave one favorite spot or another when I feel the urge, knowing also that the park closes at 5. I must be out by then only to return at the next opportunity. Grateful I am!

Recent photos at the state park:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/7X2TRZ2HL1

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/81c391c066

Log in to write a note
December 17, 2023

what a beautiful description of the peace one can experience, if one just makes the chances to do so.  thank you for sharing.

December 20, 2023

@mizzd4ever My Nature walks keep me sane in this confused and troubled world. I am very grateful for them.

December 23, 2023

@oswego i can understand this.  there is something about the silence in nature that soothes the soul…and in this world today, the soul could use all the soothing it can get.

December 17, 2023

Nice photos! I see you’re gifted with vision as well as words. I love a good stroll in nature; I always carry a pocket knife with me to collect little samples, which I then bring home and photograph.

December 18, 2023

@ravdiablo Nature is so healing and therapeutic for me!  It has been my whole life,  and has kept me sane in this world gone mad!