The perils of racing to the finish line of life

We all suffer from what Samuel Johnson called the ‘hunger of the imagination,’ the insatiable craving to fill the moment with more than what is in it now, as well as the constant desire to seek what’s around the bend.  Is it really possible to be content with less?

 

David Gessner in an article in “The American Scholar” titled “Looking Back From the End of the World:  what Thoreau Can Teach Us About Living Life During — and After — the Pandemic”

 

It’s nearly impossible to be content with having less of what we don’t need.  And what we don’t need helps fuel our massive consumer-based economy, and has for the 70 years.   Let’s face it, other than the necessities of food and clothing, we could get by on a lot less.  Our whole way of life in the late 20th and early 21st centuries is based on spending, on every imaginable thing possible.  Before  the pandemic, my week would seem strangely empty if I had not made my ritual trips to these places:  Dollar Tree (the 21st century version of the 60s dime stores I loved so much); Tuesday Morning for the lucky find of some gift for myself that I would never have thought to get if I hadn’t walked in their door; Big Lots for whatever (I have absolutely no need to go  there except it’s practically next door to Dollar Tree, so why not?); and finally to Costco to spend absurd amounts of money on bulk items that take me, a single person, weeks, months or years to use up.  Crazy, but I loved going there.   But my membership expired this past June.  My most memorable impulse purchase there that I couldn’t bring myself to even open was a huge 64-ounce jar of pickled asparagus.  Eeeek!

Well, it’s been eight months since I’ve been inside any of those stores.  And I’d say I’ve saved a lot of money except for the fact that I probably more than make up the difference ordering things on Amazon and  getting my groceries delivered.  This has enabled me to be both a virtual and literal hermit, rarely venturing out of the house because there’s no need to.  And I like this new normal a lot and can’t imagine going back to the old ways.  It will be a new day once it’s safe to go out again.

I would say that since I had more time after retiring, I found myself wanting more things and engaging in more shopping trips to partially, and mistakenly, offset the huge physical snd emotional investment of time involved in caregiving for my mother 24/7.    So in a sense, I could justify it.  But not anymore.  The pandemic has upended just about everything concerned with my retirement plans and goals.

So now and henceforth, is the time to re-orient my priorities.  I have more books to read than I could ever finish in several lifetimes.  I have lots of collectible items that gave me momentary pleasure  like a Hershey bar does,  but which now sit on shelves, tables and countertops staring at me.  I’m not saying it’s bad to have fun buying things, but in excess it’s really bad for you mentally.  What I need to do is pick up two or three good books and make a point to read them in a reasonable period of time instead of in  months and years.  It was a standing joke among my former co-workers that I was still  reading a work-related book after seven years.  This also speaks volumes about my attention span.  I’m so interested in so many things hat I flit like a hummingbird from one thought, book, Website, online news site, or YouTube clip to another, “constantly craving to fill the moment” with one more amusing, entertaining, inspiring, educational or dimly absurd distraction after another.  Let me not even go there thinking about the dozens of movies on my various streaming services’ watchlists.  Round and round I go.  When it stops nobody knows, certainly not me.

Although the journey is indeed the destination, the events, activities, priorities and preoccupations along the way really should have a strong  sense of order and meaningfulness.  They should take time, much more then the flickering moments dashing from app to app on my smartphone for hours each day.  Yes, I truly love my smartphone, and can’t imagine life without one.  It takes my mind off so many of the pressing and troubling concerns of the day, especially now.  But at what price?  What am I really learning and what is my goal of excitedly seeking what’s next,  or what es around the next bend in the river before I’ve assimilated where I’ve just been?  This is one of those mysteries of life that with willpower and fortitude I will solve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 26, 2020

Technology and the availability of so much more than what I had access to as a child and young man, is wonderful. I don’t see the use of this availability as a means strictly to alleviate boredom. I’m able to learn things I wouldn’t otherwise know. I can satisfy my curiousity. My world has broadened. In the end, when we are 6′ under, it won’t matter if we enjoyed ourselves frivolously or not. Live life.

November 26, 2020

@solovoice  In my opinion, immersing oneself in a good book (in my case, nonfiction) is a far richer and more edifying  experience than surfing relentlessly for the next new story, or cool, educational, or temporarily mind-blowing Website or YouTube video.  I love doing all hat and have for the past 25 years.  Technology and the Internet have made my life immeasurably richer, but at the end of the day, nothing compares to the sustained enrichment, depth and educational value of books.   That’s where I want to see change, finally tackling the many good books I have in my library that are unread.

Today I’m thankful for all those  books (and many in Kindle) and I’m grateful hat God has higher things in store for me, a miraculous, conscious cluster of stardust.

 

November 26, 2020

Last year I read a book called “The Gentle Art of Death Cleaning.” It made sense to me and I followed the suggestions. I was fairly aware of how much stuff I had that I didn’t need, and it truly felt good to do something about it. Clothing was easy.  Kitchen stuff fairly easy. Books a little harder…I whittled my way through with waning enthusiasm until I started looking at things of sentimental value. I think those are more about memory than things…but that is where my death cleaning stopped. You are, of course, talking about so much more, but you have reminded me of the pleasure I derived from clearing away clutter. After the first of the year I may be ready to take another run at it.

November 26, 2020

@chalandra  The “stuff” will be far easier to part with than the books.   But yes, I have a lot of clutter with lots of stuff in boxes.  I will have to deal with all that at some point after the pandemic.  Most of the books I will try to keep in storage until I know where I’ll be living a year or so from now.

December 5, 2020

@chalandra I’ve got onto that Gentle Art of Death Cleaning.  Haven’t read the book but I’ve got the idea & now I keep a box on the kitchen floor & I pop things in that I come across & realize I don’t need any more.  When the box is full, off it goes to Good Will or other charity.  So far, the dent is small enough to be minuscule, but I have faith it will continue until it’s a Grand Canyon!

November 29, 2020

Before Covid I used to help out a friend of mine who had estate sales.  Some of these estates were a real eye opener to me.  People that collected things they thought were going to be “valuable some day” (beanie babies anyone?) or that had drawers full of stuff they thought they were leaving for their children, when in actuality they were leaving it for their children to go through and get rid of.  This really helped me when it came time to downsize for my move.  And I’m still going through stuff to pitch – just to make sure I leave behind as little as possible for my kid / husband to go through.

December 2, 2020

@onlysujema   I certainly wonder about this, too.  I don’t have anything of monetary value to leave behind, but I do have much of intrinsic value, and, if appropriately handled by whichever descendants of mine, via my sister’s two children, I think it will be a priceless resource for future generations, assuming civilization survives global warming.
As far as all my various “things,” they will probably end up at th Goodwill store and my books donated to the library.  I rather doubt anyone cleaning out what books I’ve  saved will recognize the value, again intrinsically, of my photography book and framed prints collection.

December 5, 2020

I also have more books than I can ever read in the time that’s left to me, even it that time is 20 years.  But I’ve approached it with a system.  Since I log books on GoodReads, I know when I put any particular book on my wish list.  So at the start of every year, I make up a list of 150 books from the oldest section of my wish list.  Then I trawl though the stack and stacks and stacks and stacks of unread books, pick out the ones on that year’s list, and start reading.  So far, I’ve managed to reduce the hoard by about 100.  Leaving over 800 left to be read😳.  Yes, it’s embarrassing to admit out loud how many books I’ve got stored hoarded.  But it’s my one extravagance in life, having given up drinking, buying things trying to define who I am, & various other unhealthy habits.  And everybody deserves one extravagance … don’t they?😁