Trying to grapple with the root cause of things

This is a story that goes to the root (pardon the pun) of the problems of modern life. The cost of everything has gotten out of control, especially health care, dental work, and housing.

This is yet another cautionary tale as well as a morality tale, when you look at it in all its complex dynamics. Yes, getting a tooth extracted (or pulled as they ised to say) for the first time ever this summer has made me ponder a lot of things. And, of course, I have a huge tendency to do this and write about it so I can make more sense of it all.

So in June, I finally went back to the dentist after skipping two six-month checkups and cleanings. After I saw the look on his face after he examined my teeth following a cleaning, I knew the news was not good, but I was horrified when my dentist told me that not only did I need a root canal in one tooth but another, larger tooth was going to have to be extracted. I had felt a little pain in that tooth but nothing much. I was dumbfounded.

Long story short, I spent the next two months until last week tending to those two areas of my dental health. I have this fear of a major toothache, since my pain threshold is pretty low. But never have I had this much to deal with. I guess I’ve been lucky, but still.

The cost: Root canal and crown – $2,400. Extraction, implant and crown – $6,000. Dental insurance covered approximately $2,000 of the total $8,400. Billing to me: $6,400.

So there goes a huge whack at my retirement savings. Just like that! Pow! I now have much more empathy for people who can’t afford these outrageous costs. I was fortunate. The endodontist and oral surgeon were great. I had virtually no pain. I don’t have to go around with a hole in my mouth.

I realize endodontics and oral surgery are very specialized fields. Would you want the job of pulling people’s teeth out as they sit there rigid with anxiety or fear? But why? Why does dental work cost so much?

Log in to write a note
July 31, 2021

Capitalism.

July 31, 2021

@solovoice “What the market will bear” —  even if it’s unbearable for most.

August 1, 2021

Oh boy … you’ve triggered all my anxiety!  I haven’t been to the dentist in a long time, for various reasons.  And my teeth are telling me — not so gently — that it’s time to go.  I’m afraid.  I’m afraid I’m going to lose one of the lower implants, and I don’t have the money to get it replaced.  And no savings to draw on either.  I quit hurting/bleeding so of course I’ve shoved it to the back of my mind, but you’ve reminded me, so I guess I’d better grab myself by the seat of my pants and make that appointment.😝

August 1, 2021

@ghostdancer Yes, you should do it. I had no choice since I’ve had a lifetime of dental work including multiple cavities, crowns and root canals.  Before I settled down 20 years ago, I used to wait 3-5 between dental visits.  No more.

August 1, 2021

@oswego That’s my history too.  It started when first husband didn’t believe in dentists so there never was enough money to get minor things taken care of, until they’d blown up.  Ah well, today I have one bridge and three bridges on implants.  And no money to fix any of it if it ever goes wrong …