How We Met {Part Two}

After my visit to my sister in England, and after I flew back to Mississippi {have I mentioned I lived there for over 30 years?} this man in Vermont asked if he could call me. So for a while we were in contact by IM and long long telephone calls on Sundays.

Now, at that time I was the owner {along with the bank} of a three-bedroom brick house with an acre of land and a pool. Anyone who has ever owned a house knows it requires a lot of upkeep, and, as for the pool…well, if you have never owned one, let me tell you that a pool is a hole in the ground into which you pour water, chemicals and money. I LOVED having a pool when my son was small and as he got older, he and his friends were happy to do the vacuuming, etc. that had to be done daily, but now my son was in the Army and I was the sole person living in this house. And, although I enjoyed swimming, I wasn’t thrilled {and neither was my herniated disk}about the cleaning or about mowing the grass (even with a lawn tractor} on the rest of the acre.

One day, almost out of the blue, the young lady who cleaned my house every two weeks mentioned that if I was ever interested in selling, she and her husband {and her two kids} were interested in buying. Now, this was not just any old young lady. This was the girl who had been my son’s baby-sitter when she was in the seventh grade and I had to hold down two jobs in order to stay in this house after my divorce. Her mother was my best friend at the time {she later died of breast cancer} and Tanya spent many years at my house looking after my kid and her little brother who was the same age as my kid.

And, around that time, too, the man in Vermont asked if I would be interested in coming to Vermont and visiting him. I told him that I would come for a month because that would give us both time to see if we wanted to live together and to talk out all the details. I bought my own ticket {although he offered to buy it for me} because I wanted it to be quite clear to him that I was coming for a visit and not moving in, and I have always been proud of the fact that I have ALWAYS paid my own way all my life and need no man to support me.

So…I flew off to Vermont…

To be continued…

Log in to write a note
September 22, 2002

Awwww Romance is in the air. Maybe I will change my mind about your partner.

November 27, 2003

I knew that you met Fred over the internet but I still love the story.

This is really interesting. Why did you get rid of the rest of your diary, sweetie? Love you,