More Fun with Verizon

To sum it up briefly, I have an email account but I cannot send or receive email. We have DSL but the signal  is weak and intermittent therefore we keep being thrown off line.

I spent three hours today {I timed it} with two people from the tech service neither of whom spoke good English. I couldn’t understand them and they couldn’t understand me. In addition, they were working from a script {I could hear them quite clearly flipping the pages of their manuals} which meant that they both had me do the same things which not only didn’t work the first time, but also didn’t work the second time either. However, one thing that was interesting was when they took over my cursor and zoomed around my email program! It didn’t solve anything but it was fun to look at!

Finally I got irritated and upset and called the person we had been working with at the local Verizon Advocasy {Yes, there is something wrong with that spelling but at this moment, I don’t care!} place and although she had gone home, some one else called back and said she would see what could be done. About 30 minutes ago, I got a phone call from a man named Brian who spoke English with an American accent and who had me go through different tests than the two techs in India. Apparently, one thing we do need is a filter on the Dish Network connection. We do have a couple of filters but they are in a box somewhere in the porch storage area. As soon as I disconnected the dish, he tested the signal which was then strong, or so he said. So, we are having a new modem, the lines to connect it and a filter arriving on Tuesday.  I have his name and the phone number which goes straight to his desk, he said, and he will tell me what to connect..Until then, if we want to use the DSL, we have to have the Dish Network disconnected!

Tomorrow:

  • go for a walk
  • put the ingredients for a loaf of bread in the machine
  • swiffer the living room floor and dust {I did a good clean in the bathroom and kitchen today and there is no point in getting more than the basics done on the dining room floor until Fred gets his computer desk and some of his stuff put away…}
  • make a good start on my art assignment.
  • Maybe work on the art room a bit. {There is still stuff lying about where I dumped it when we moved in.}
  • work a bit more on the Italian homework. {I have got about half of it done.}

Until later….

 

Log in to write a note
September 15, 2006

Who did the wiring in your place? DSL and your dish should have nothing to do with each other.

September 15, 2006

SIGH…..I’m so sorry, I wish you had other options!!

Oh goodness, they are just giving you the run around aren’t they. I’m so sorry you have to deal with them. *HUGS* <# Annie-Rae

That’s just terrible! There is no excuse for everything you are going through with Verizon. Grrr!

Your Tech Support guys were likely coming live to you from Bangladesh. Seriously. They’ve outsourced most of those jobs to India.

September 15, 2006

OMG… Who installed your DSL. Ours was installed for free by the company but it isn’t Verizon. We had to have filters set on EVERY phone line in the house as well.

September 15, 2006

My very first thought is that is sure is good to read that you are still making bread!!! Vista Way

September 15, 2006

Good grief! I wonder why the dish is interfering with the DSL. That makes no sense at all. But the proof is in the experiment, which apparently worked. Though it’s no fun to have to choose between surfing the net and surfing the channels…

September 15, 2006

What next? This is no fun at all. Patience must be becoming a habit.

September 15, 2006

Oh, my good gracious!!!!! I absolutely cannot believe how incompetent these people are. Wish handy-dandy Mike was there to fix it all for you!!

September 15, 2006

Gee – Isn’t out-sourcing wonderful? 🙂 – – – –

Sounds like a big mess.

Pat
September 15, 2006

It sounds like you have a busy day planned tomorrow! And I can’t stand Verizon and I don’t even have it…just your descriptions of your experiences have completely turned me off from them.

September 15, 2006

What an ordeal with Verizon! I hate dealing with tech support and the trying to understand each other through accents and all that. They are invariably polite and so nice and I feel apologetic for not understanding them. I say things like we must have a bad connection. 🙂

September 16, 2006

Good golly! I never heard of so much trouble! It’s like, all the problems that are even POSSIBLE for a person to have with their Internet, have suddenly rained down upon your abode, and all at once! I sure hope that before long SOMEONE can find a solution for you!! hugs, Weesprite

September 16, 2006

RYN: Yes, the adults ARE 90% of the problem. Mark is part of the issue in the classroom, but it’s exacerbated by his mother and the cast of her cronies that continues to grow. I can’t believe that Verizon is still being a pain. *shakes head* Unbelievable.

September 17, 2006

I read your trials and tribulations everyday with Verizon and thank my lucky stars that I do not have to deal with them. Just when I think you have been through everything that can go wrong with them, you come up with yet another problem. Are you sure you only moved 20 feet away?