My Day

Somehow this day has just gotten away from me. By this I mean that I haven’t walked at all—not out doors nor on the treadmill.

I was up during the night so that meant I slept until 9 am. This wasn’t too bad since I don’t start my laundry on Monday until I hear Melanie leave the house at about 8 am. After all, since it is not only her machines I am using but also her hot water, I want to be sure she and Mike have hot water for showers. So, I went up and down two flights of stairs many times putting clothes into the washer and dryer and taking clothes out.

Malcolm was being really cute. While Mike and Melanie were away, they left Malcolm in the house {let out for a pee-and-poo break twice a day by a neighbor} but they left the door under the stairs unlocked so Malcom could come upstairs and visit Fred. Now, every time he hears me go up and down the stairs, he gives this little, “Come on! I know you are going to take me out!” bark and scratches at the door.

About noon, the physical therapist called and said if it was OK with us, she would like to come out this afternoon and see Fred. Well, I fully intended to go out for a walk before she came at 2 pm. But I didn’t, and I can’t tell you what I did instead! I know I made another loaf of bread but since all I do is measure the ingredients and put them into the machine, it wasn’t that that took up the time. She got here about 2:30 and stayed for an hour and a half. She did an evaluation on Fred and got him started on a few simple exercises which she wants him to do four times a day. Then she encouraged him to try the stairs {See previous entry}. By the time she left, it was that time of day when I am out of energy.

I made myself a cuppa tea and had a slice of the newly-baked bread with it. {I added some rosemary and thyme to it this time and it smelled lovely.} So, here I am, totally exhausted and feeling guilty that I haven’t walked. But tomorrow is another day and I will have energy then…

Until later…

Log in to write a note
January 10, 2005

I’m a creature of habit in some ways and am reluctant to start using new gadgets. But maybe now that I’ve fallen in love with my crockpot (years after everyone else!), I’ll get a bread machine. I’ve heard they’re easy to use and wonderful! Here’s hoping you have a good evening, and maybe tomorrow you’ll get to go out walking! hugs, Weesprite

January 10, 2005

You did a lot of walking up and down stairs so wouldn’t that count? I can almost smell that bread.

Definitely the stairs count!

You’re a VERY considerate co-habitator leaving the hot water for them. Your bread sound yummy!

After reading about your homemade bread I’m thinking of digging my bread machine out. Or up – it’s in the basement. Good luck to Fred on the exercises. You got a lot done! Laundry and several trips up and down stairs is tiring.

January 10, 2005

Now IM wanting some bread!

January 10, 2005

Rosemary smells so good in bread. With real butter?

January 10, 2005

We are on our second bread machine having totally worn our first one out.

January 17, 2005

I used to live very close to a bakery, and I just love the smell of it first thing in the morning. Your talk of baking breads really gave me some inspiration, and I’ve been baking cookies like a mad woman! LOL. I really enjoy it, and I know it’s not good for me, so I give some of them away. Take care, and I hope that all is going well with you, and Fred.