My Saturday

Today has been a pretty good day. First, I slept really well with no Klonopin until 8 am. I slept well enough that I didn’t hear Fred get up during the night.

After I got up, I put the ingredients for a loaf in the bread machine and then decided that I really wanted something curried. So, I found some chicken breasts, cut them up. put them in the small Crock Pot, and made a mild curry sauce to put over them. If I had been making it for myself, I would have used more curry but I know Fred doesn’t like really hot stuff. I plugged this into the wall and started on tuna salad which was another thing he had asked for. I quite like making two or three different things while I am in a cooking mood so this wasn’t a chore. I plugged in a very nifty little chopper we have and chopped up green onions and celery and then pulled the plug from the wall. At that time, the plug of the Crock Pot came with it and I didn’t notice! Oooops! Once all this was done, I went out for a walk.

it was snowing when I left– the light grainy snow that looks a bit like ice falling. I was wearing my orange vest on top of my yellow coat and walking on the road so I was avoiding the worst of the ice and slush although there were still a couple of places that I had to walk carefully over. I was enjoying my walk so much that when I was heading home, I took the long way down Main Street. Since I had a $20 bill in my pocket {I do carry ID but I don’t usually carry money when I walk} I crossed Main St. to a service station/store to get some milk. It was easy to see what sold. There was a section, a big section, of beer and wine, and another big section of junk food. Almost as big was the candy section and the milk was tucked into a little cooler at the back.When I got home, I noticed there was no delicious curry smell coming from the Kitchen and that was when I discovered I had unplugged the Crock Pot. It was an annoyance, nothing more, since there was plently of time left to cook it.

I spent the afternoon working on layouts for Fred’s letter to all the people who had written to him. The final form was made in Printshop as a pamphlet. It had a picture of our back yard in the snow that I took last year. The inside of the pamphlet is blank so he can write on it, and the two other sections are decorated with light blue snow flakes. it looks pretty snazzy though I say it myself so on the third section, tucked neatly into a corner, it says “Designed by Patricia.” The really good thing about it is that when it is folded, it can tuck neatly into a standard-size envelope… I printed out a dozen copies for him although he has only nine letters to write. I pointed out to him that he could type the same letter for everyone and then I could print it for him on this paper, but he decided he would prefer to do it by hand.

After that, I walked on the tread mill for 20 minutes while I was watching “Batman.” It is so much easier to do when I have a DVD. I am not going fast but I am pleased that about 13 minutes of this 20 minutes was consecutive. {Then I had to stop to get my breath back and to drink water.} Now I am working on stamina. Speed can come later. After that, I put some Basmati rice on to cook and when it was done, I turned off the heat and let it sit to absorb the water. It was delicious with the curried chicken.

So, all in all a good day for me.

Until later…

Log in to write a note

*cheers to good days* wow it does sound like you had a good day! Wishing you many more good days!!!

January 8, 2005

I love curried anything too! Unfortunately no one here likes it but me so I don’t make it.

January 8, 2005

I’m sending CC over for dinner. She loves anything with a kick to it. Fred appears to be taking more of an interest in everyday life. Good for him (which becomes good for you!).

January 8, 2005

A very productive and healthy day.

just a random note….. that is wonderful of you just enjoying your day. while having a brisk walk in the morning. still enjoying what you were going to have for dinner it tasting deliciuous. so did hubby end up writting all nine of those letters. sweet dreams and i also want to wish you lots of laughs and loving wonderful days with your hubby.

When I was in England, my hostess fixed curry for me one evening. Her husband insisted that I have the “curry experience.” The curry sauce was sort of mild, and the rice was kind of yellowish. I don’t know if this is the same as what you cook, but I’ve been looking for a recipe ever since. She got the sauce at the grocery store in a can and they don’t sell it here. Do you know if I can get it?

January 8, 2005

oooh, now I’m hungry for some curried chicken! 🙂

January 8, 2005

sounds like things are getting back to normal for you… and I hope Fred feels better soon..

Fred’s card sounds lovely. That’s nice of him to handwrite all those notes.

i was getting hungry reading this too. you inspire me to walk in the rain, when you walk out in vermont in the winter. tender californian here!

January 8, 2005
January 9, 2005

MMMMMMMMMM….I love curry!! and cooking in my crockpot, too! I hope I never accidently turn mine off. The cards you made for Fred sound very nice! And the walk in the snow, too. And the good sleep, also! Here’s wishing you another day just as good as yesterday! hugs, Weesprite

January 9, 2005

Mmmm, I haven’t had Basmati rice in a long time!!! Sounds good!!! Glad you rescued the crock pot in time!!! And glad things are getting easier! Love you! ~M

January 9, 2005

Hi Patrisha, so glad you had a good day! Going to post a recipe this week for tuna salad a little differently done. Bet you will like it! Love, Anna PS May post it this morning!

Shi
January 9, 2005
January 9, 2005

Sounds like a lovely card. I love working with PrintShop.

January 9, 2005

Wow! You are doing so well with the walking and everything. Awesome! And I bet that pamhlet looks awesome too!

January 9, 2005

…ooops….corrections made.

January 9, 2005

Wow…it did sounds like a good productive day. I always enjoy them the best.