Today

This morning I walked up to the drug store to redeem the two rain checks on the coffee they ran out of on Saturday. When I got there, I checked where the coffee was and there was none. So, I found a young man stocking shelves and asked him  was there actually any coffee in this particular size and brand. He said, "Would you like me to look in the back?"

"Why, no, of course not," I replied. "I’ll just go back there and start tossing stuff around and find it myself, shall I?"

No, I didn’t really say that, but I definitely thought it! What I really said was, "Yes, please. That would be very helpful."  So, he did and I finished up with two big cans of coffee at a very good price!

A total change of subject here. I have been thinking about what is stopping me getting out for a good walk in the morning. Well, it is because I sit at the computer: first with my email and then with Open Diary followed up with about 100 or so RSS feeds from the Times and the Telegraph plus the blogs of  several friends  and  a few mac blogs… It is all a matter of priorities. I need to get myself out walking before turning on the computer at all; I did this before a couple of years ago and, thinking back, it actually worked quite well. I would start the coffee before I went out and have my cup  and breakfast when I got home. What I am doing now is leaving the walking until quite late in the morning or even in the afternoon and what happens is that by then, I am looking for excuses not to do it. So, a reordering of priorities. My health is more important than anything on the computer..

QUOTATIONS:

"There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way."

Christopher Darlington Morley (1890-1957)

 

Log in to write a note
Pat
October 1, 2008

I’ve had to do the same thing when I’m at home. Otherwise, I just do stuff on the computer and I wonder where the day went! (((Hugs)))

October 1, 2008

hehehe loved your response (in your head anyways!) i get my chores done first, before i turn on the computer or i will sit there all morning.

October 1, 2008

There are times that I am in danger of bleeding to death. From biting my tongue to keep myself from giving a reply to an overly stupid statement or reply. 🙂 – – – –

October 1, 2008

Yep, me too. But since I’ve walked my dog early in the morning for a couple of weeks now SHE sees to it that we both get out there bright and early!! Sometimes my dog is smarter than me. I remember admiring you for your morning walks. You will do that again.

October 1, 2008

What you meant to say, of course, was that your health is more important than anything on the computer EXCEPT US. Right? 😉 Seriously good plan.

October 1, 2008

I am like you, except that I like doing things in increments. I MUST go online first thing in the morning, but all I do then is write and read on OD. Then I take my walk. Then later on in the day I do the other stuff, like reading the news online, etc. Come to think of it, I don’t really do ANYthing for a great long stretch of time….I even read in short increments. I guess having a short attention span is a good thing, in some ways! :o) !! I nearly fell off my chair when you said that to the store clerk (or when I thought you did, anyway!) hugs, Weesprite

October 2, 2008

I used to go to the track – across the street – and walk first thing in the morning. Now checking with friends on OD and elsewhere takes up my morning energy – and they I get sidetracked. Boy! Do I know what you mean!