Schadenfreude

I hate to admit that I am a practitioner of the fine art of schadenfreude but I am.  Is it wrong? I dont know, but this reminds me of something else.

Recently in court with my soon to be ex-wife we had an agreement all set up and in the Rocky Mountain West child support is often based on a simple formula based on the mothers income, the fathers income and who has the chile for how many nights. My child support order came to 782.00 which I thought was outrageous but in the name of amicability I went along with it in the agreement.

Come court day this past wednesday my dear sweet soon to be ex wife (internet whore of the new millenium) went on the stand and the first questionout of the mouth of the female judge was "Is there any medical reason why you do not work?" to which my wife replied … no. The judge asked her when she did work how much did she make to which my wife replied approximately 60k. The rest of the time for my wife on the stand went fairly uneventful.

My time on the stand was much the same and I answered the questions truthfully. The judge then stated "It is the order of this court that you (my soon to be ex-wife, internet whore of the new millenium) are voluntarily underempoyed and I am changing the child support order from 782 dollars to 141 dollars."  My wife then proceeded to go into meltdown mode and argued with the judge who promptly kicked her out of the courtroom and orderd us into mediation.

Now if taking pleasure in another persons misery is a crime than I am the guiltiest man alive at least for that moment. Catholic guilt taking over….time to say penance.

-PF

Log in to write a note
May 28, 2007

In my best James Ellroy voice…Dig it daddio. F/uck our catholic upbringing and f/uck penance. You mean she might have to get a real job again instead of dickin around on a computer? She won’t have ANY chance of getting your house will she? I’ll try to call this Friday.

gel
May 28, 2007

Wow! Smart judge! I saw one of your entries on the front page and stopped in to visit.

May 28, 2007

I don’t normally take pleasure in another’s misery, but sometimes you just can’t help it. Especially when it comes to those internet whores. =)

May 29, 2007

oh HELL yeah!!! and you are not taking pleasure in another’s misery – you are merely appreciative of the justice system because no effin WAY should she be getting $700 plus