I feel an earthquake coming …

I feel an earthquake coming; the pressure builds.

Haven’t you ever heard
that it’s dangerous
to approach an animal
who is backed into a corner?

I live in the corner;
I am the dog that wants to be loved,
the man who doesn’t know how.

I’d started there
and now I’m here,
just as anyone would be.

I am not scared,
but I do feel fear;
I’m terrified by what’s within me.

My eyes dilate
and I grit my teeth,
holding back violent tendencies.

My hands are still,
as are my feet,
though they want to get away from me.

Give me my space,
I need some time
to repair my composure.

I need to get away from me
and back at you with empathy,
to open up the world, for me, beyond closure.

You would be puzzled by my appearance,
feel uneasy, to say the least;
wonder why I don’t move or blink.

I want to detonate.

I chew on my tongue and scowl momentarily,
appendages loose, transferring energy
with very little, to no, resistance; flowing calmly.

But if you look closely,
I am always in motion;
perpetually charged, though unwilling to flee.

Who then is this person that you must acknowledge to see?

No me gusta mucha gente.

Don’t be afraid, Friend, 🙂
it’s only me;
the dog that was abandoned,
as opposed to rescued,
the boy who took an axe to his family tree.

Copyright © 2013 Gizmo and the gremlins. [of OD]
All Rights Reserved.

gizmo and the gremlins.

Log in to write a note