For Rocking Rachael

Dearest Rachael,

Hey Hun.  I feel that after reading all of your enteries, I need to leave you feedback about the courses of our lives.  Feedback that is too heavy to discuss in diary notes.

First of all, I never kid when I call you my best friend, ever.  This may sound crazy but I’m a rather introspective, quiet, and shy person.  And then all of a sudden, in a matter of minutes, we start hanging out and i’m almost a different person.  I feel that I am able to tell you things that I have never told other friends before, things that I feel stupid telling others, because you get me. 

So let us forget about those icky two years in high school from the beg of sophomore year until the suprise miracle of speech and debate.  Lets just forget about those times.  They don’t mean half as much as the last four years have meant.  And they’ve meant a lot.

Never have I had a friend that would let me talk about so much random crap and have fun while I’m talking about it.  Never have I had a friend who would help me make up things or help me go off the deep end about hypothetical situations, one of our favorites: Mr. Long.  😛

Its been fun to be in this crazy ride of life with a friend who is willing:
to help me give it all we’ve got
To smoke cigars on important prissy days
to drink cheap vodka until we puke+to toast popcorn kernals
to pull e-brake slides+to talk  on the phone until 1:47 a.m.
to play tic tac drunk+to race home from the gay bar with our gay friends
to sing spanish entrees with until we make a song
to sing musicals aloud at the FOX
to make a vodka watermelon
to make STL Caridnals t-shirts with
to play sand volleyball with
to drive around with a strawberry cake and a drunk friend in the strawberry cake
to buy coconut cups with
to conga line with
to sing jimmy buffet with
etc.

We’re best friends and we’ve reached the point where we’ve learned what it takes to be best friends.  We’ve passed the stupid years in high school where drama overran us and we found our emotions swayed too easily.  Now we have the ability to say "you’re my best friend" and we understand what the implications and responsibilities are that come along with that title. 

I understand that i’m to be here for you, to listen to you, to give you advice when i can.  I understand that our friendship works in the reverse as well.  I understand that you’re advice is probably what is best for me, and I should listen to it, even though it may scare the shit out of me. 

I understand that you will probably give a ridiculously embarrassing speech at my wedding (whenever that may be) but I also understand that you will throw me a kick ass bachelorette party (and the same goes for you, on both of the above statements). 

I understand that our kids will grow up thinking they are cousins, or some other kind of close family, because they will see way too much of one another.

I understand that our kids will probably one day tell us that we are too wild and that we should settle down, and we will tell them that it is impossible and to keep dreaming.

I understand that our husbands will have dens in our basements and estabilish some kind of club for "husbands of way too cool women".

I understand that whichever one of us makes our first million will take the other on one of the many fantasy vacations we have dreamed up over the years.

I understand that we will be witnesses on each other’s E! True Hollywood Story.  You better say nice things, I know I will.

I understand that neither of us will make the other one wear something ridiculously uncomfortable in our weddings (i threw that in for our measure).

And above all, I understand that we will either be present or a phone call away from each other when these important things happen in our lives
a) we finally marry mr. right
b) we give birth to our children
c) graduations
d) deaths
e) jail time
f) good times
g)bad tmes
h)in between times
i)times of stalking
j) drag shows
k)stair surfing
l)  picture frame buying
m) drunken dialing
n) broken hearts
o) Strip Search viewing
p) curb switching
q)cheesecake bite rescuing
r) fresh ink card buying
s)hubcap losing
t)producer singing
u) rum drinking
v)Pride and Prejudice (a&e) watching
w)walmart running
x)paper plate hat making
y)crazy wedding reception dancing
z)being best friends.

which we are, which we better always be.  cause i heart you, you heart me. 

just know that i’m here for you, and any of the crises we run into down the road.

aww. best friends

 

Log in to write a note
February 11, 2006

and reading past diary enteries helps one realize how far behind us the past is. and how important make the present count is. friends are friends, and they need to know what importance there is placed upon that role. they keep you sane people.

February 12, 2006

I think I might cry 😉

March 16, 2006

*nods* this is important. this is true. i love you. xoxo

March 18, 2006

I wanted to let you know that I finally responsed to this. Too much to put in a note, so you’ll have to go to my diary to read the entry I wrote for you. Awe, best friends.