A Christmas Letter

~Dear Santa~

I’ve not belived in you since I was a little little girl. In fact I believe I stopped believing in 3rd Grade. I found the presents that mommy and daddy buy for us in their hiding place. Then mommy told me the truth. That there was not a Santa Clause. My childlike hope was crushed that Christmas when I realized that you weren’t real.

This year I’ve found myself drifting off and wondering, will you come this year. I don’t know why my mind is turning to such a thought. Then it occured to me, that Santa Clause may not be a person, he’s more then a person. He’s a feeling and a thought. A thought of hope that seems lost throughout the year. A feeling that a child gets around December that keeps them up late at night on Christmas Eve.

It’s not the thought of the presents that children can’t wait to see but the thought of seeing the jolly old man with presents for you and me. Just that chance to say thank you to him for all the happiness he brings. I’ve never had much for Christmas but I’ve never had to little. Sometimes I think the meaning gets lost on me now because of how old I’ve gotten. I’m 18 years old and since I’ve stopped believing the meaning of the holiday seems lost on even me.

Sure, I know I celebrate it for Christ. But sometimes all even I can think about is the presents under the tree. Not the true meaning of Christmas that is represented in an enternal figure of peace. This is why the Christmas letter this Christmas eve. I’ve realized I miss the one thing that made my youth so special. Just the hope of Santa coming and beliving in him just for once more night.

Santa was there when daddy went to war. Santa came two weeks early so I could have Christmas that year. There is hope this time of year that doesn’t last all year long. I find myself wishing that Santa came all year long instead of one day a year. So that way this peace and happiness could stay for the world just that much longer. If I could give you all just one last wish, it would be this Merry Christmas and never forget that hope is everything that we’ll ever have!!!

Love

~Sonja~

This entry was inspired by a thought I had today. Just don’t forget the message of the holiday. And just know I love all of you so very much. No matter how much anyone fights or what not. You are my friends and my family and I care deeply for you and want to share this holiday cheer with you! Merry Christmas!

Log in to write a note
December 24, 2001

Happy Holidays!!! Merry Christmas!!! Happy New Year!!! HAPPY EVERYTHING! 🙂

December 24, 2001

Happy Holidays!!! Merry Christmas!!! Happy New Year!!! HAPPY EVERYTHING! 🙂

December 24, 2001

Happy Holidays!!! Merry Christmas!!! Happy New Year!!! HAPPY EVERYTHING! 🙂

December 25, 2001

it’s interesting that astronomers have pinned jesus’s actual birthdate in april, not december… and yet all this crazy shenanigans about christmas and whatnot… it was actually just the christians stealing a pagan holiday so they could stifle their religious rivals… but i’ll get off my soapbox now.

December 25, 2001

it’s interesting that astronomers have pinned jesus’s actual birthdate in april, not december… and yet all this crazy shenanigans about christmas and whatnot… it was actually just the christians stealing a pagan holiday so they could stifle their religious rivals… but i’ll get off my soapbox now.

December 25, 2001

it’s interesting that astronomers have pinned jesus’s actual birthdate in april, not december… and yet all this crazy shenanigans about christmas and whatnot… it was actually just the christians stealing a pagan holiday so they could stifle their religious rivals… but i’ll get off my soapbox now.