2 FEBRUARY, 1943

2 February, 1943

How strange it feels to wake up and hear nothing but the wind blowing over my head. I’m ashamed I even fell asleep. My comrades would condemn me. Don’t know how long I have been asleep. I thank God that all are present. I’m so tired of this coldness. It is never ending. The white blanket that sleeps never ends. Please God, let me go home to my beautiful wife and sit amongst the fire. Ahhh… the feel of her soft skin… the smell of the perfumes in her hair. I can still smell her on the scarf she made for me. I keep it wrapped around my face to keep the cold out. It has been so long now, how many months? I forget. All the faces of those I have killed and my comrades that have died a bloody death within my arms. This I shal

STALINGRAD IS OURS!!!!

Log in to write a note