Beautiful Friday

It is a beautiful day today. I have already been out for a walk. It’s a tad humid, but other than that it’s lovely. Yesterday I went to a funeral. It was sad, but also nice to see family members I haven’t seen since Christmas. I was disappointed however with the funeral home. There was no social distancing and probably a lot lot more people inside than should have been allowed. I felt uncomfortable being around so many people in close quarters. It was interesting at the Cemetery. The deceased was buried at the National Cemetery. I had never4 been there before. It is set up like Arlington National Cemetery. They have a pavilion that the flag draped coffin is placed. Then they had the twenty-one gun salute and the playi9ng of Taps. Following that a two man honor guard removed the flag from the coffin and folded it and then presented it to the daughter of the man who had died. Some prayers were said before the flag was removed. After all of that the coffin was removed and taken to the spot in the cemetery where it would be interred. It was a sad and interesting experience.

Log in to write a note