Mental Dysplasia

Every night I look at the sky
Noticing my astrological demise
The mirror of death
Reflects the stars
That choose to scar
I am trapped by what I believe
And it’s why I am not free

The gods envy what they see
For humanity holds
The mortal moments
They can never seize
Yet we cannot perceive
The prognostication of what is to be
As we struggle
And become the antithesis of creation
Drowning as we try to figure out
Our fascination

Truth has not ever set anyone free
For fear
Will kill your mind
One thought at a time
Or
Liberate the madness
The noise you listened to
All your dying years

History is written on the dirt
And water of the Earth
For I see everything
That is just over the horizon
I want to be the revolution
And renaissance of the mind
Manumitting humanity
From the enslaved epidemic of belief
Then I will disappear
As if I was never here

Log in to write a note
October 27, 2018

Question for you…if the truth doesn’t set us free then what does?

October 31, 2018

@jaythesmartone

This is a great question, and I meant to reply to all these and then I was stung by a bee.  I love bees, but not their stings, lol.

So the poem and novel go hand to hand, except this is my protagonist’s inner struggle.  The thinking behind your question is “what if everything you know is a lie?”  How can there be a truth when everything is a lie?  The truth does not set you free in a world that has no truth.

October 31, 2018

@raphaeltiriel I totally agree with you…especially when people we trust are always telling stories that are not really true.  Like Trump saying America is going to be great…

November 5, 2018

@jaythesmartone

I’m trying to say that everything that you know is wrong.  This world does not exist–it’s all an illusion.

On the last sentence lol, I love how you relate everything to Trump.  You cannot let him get to you like that and I hope you don’t. He wants attention—whether positive or negative.  The best thing for resisters to do is to ignore him–don’t give him the strength of your attention.