Getting fit

I have very recently starting using the couch to 5k app. Spurred on my a sponsored event I am doing at the weekend. Now over the past few years I have done a few 5 k charity walks, and it usually takes me an hour. Earlier this year I walked the 10k race for life, which took me just over 2 hours. I staggered cus on the day it was really hot. I really don’t do hot!

Anyway, I really was disgusted with how much I struggled, so thought I need to take action. Started to diet. I think to lose weight was the beginning, but there is only so much dieting you can do. So starting walking more. Trying to make sure I do 10,000 steps a day. And then 2 weeks ago, I started with the app. Now I’ve never been a runner, even as a skinny teenager, I could not run. But a out to start week 3, and I’m happy that the jog that I do is getting easier. So I’ve set myself a target of doing 5k in 45 mins. If I can do that on Sunday, I’ll be happy. I’m raising money for international animal rescue, and they ask every one who does the run raises £100.

Wish me luck 😉

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 25, 2019

Good luck, I’m sure you can do it. It’s nice that you’re raising money for a good cause

September 26, 2019

Good luck…….Do you remember Wilma and Willy?  They have both died but they were old members here before it went to a short stay in heaven…..  And I was here too…Not sure if you remember me or not.