momomomom

i just cooked up my cinnamon blueberry oatmeal with an egg + coconut milk in it and LO, IT WAS DELISH.

i’m just stopping in to log some thoughts that have been flitter fluttering in my head lately.   i’m pretty sure only 1.5 people are reading this, so , um, hi guys!

i’m in so much love with my boy.  EVERYDAY i see him do something knew, or take in something in a new way, and i’m just so amazed by the whole process.    he’s really cruising around the furniture, walls, chairs, etc. now and we really CANNOT look away, not even for a minute.    because the other day, we did, and then when i turned around to see why he was so quiet, he was literally covered in butt paste and it was ALL OVER the floor, the chair, etc.   luckily, he didn’t ingest any, but it was such an eye-opener.    other funny moments have included him emptying all the kleenex out of the box in a matter of seconds, him grabbing things off of tables that we were certain were "out of reach," and him learning how to gracefully "fall" in a gentle somersault-type manuever.

GOD, he’s the cutest thing and i can hardly resist kissing him and nibbling on him and just hugging the heck out of him.   he’s just pure joy.    i mean, he has some moments of sheer resiliance and stubborness  – and the more he learns how to "work" us the more i fear for what our future holds, but i’m also so proud of him in those moments where i can see the wheels turning and he figures out how to communicate what he wants.

we started teaching him simple sign language – he hasn’t really done any of the signs yet, but we can see more and more recognition of what we are "saying" and he seems to appreciate the idea of it.   last week he started saying MOMOMOM and BABABABABABA and DADADADA  but we don’t necessarily think he says anything in context – yet.   but even if he’s not saying MOM to me, i still squee with delight when i hear it.    

he still eats like a little piglet, which is awesome.  we had to stop giving him these yummy "yogurt melts" because he started wanting ONLY those and would turn his nose up at everything else if they were around.   but now he’s eating a wide variety of things — from "sushi" to pulled pork.   (sushi = avocado rolls, egg sushi and tofu).  we also take him out to eat ALL the time now – and he’s getting so good at it.    he really just wants to do what we are doing, so if i give him food off of my plate, he thinks he is just so cool, and "squees" with delight.   he can eat so many different things -and it’s such fun to put new things in front of him and watch him check it out.    he really likes chicken, peas, avocado, "puffs,"  chicken sausage, eggs, blueberries, strawberries, nectarines, quinoa, kale, greek yogurt and OF COURSE milk.   boob milk.   my original plan was to breastfeed him until his 1st birthday, but i’m thinking i might go a few months longer — especially since he’s starting to require so much less now.    when he was a newborn – i would spend somewhere around 3-4 hours PER DAY nursing him.  now it’s MAYBE?  30-40 minutes.   and those are the days when i have him all day – when he’s at gigi’s house, it’s usually less.   anyway, we’ll see.  i just REALLY, REALLY love not having a monthly cycle and i love that i barely work out these days, but yet i now weigh what i weighed before i got pregnant.   these are nice perks, nice perks indeed.  i FOR SURE need to start getting back in the rhythym of regular workouts for my brain sanity, but i’ll enjoy my current "laziness" and once-weekly runs for now.  because the truth is, chasing around a super active baby IS a workout in it’s own right.

my parents are coming into town on thursday – i’m super excited to show them how much JRB has grown since they first met him in september.    we have lots of fun activities planned and it will be nice to have my stepdad here on father’s day.   pretty, pretty, pretty cool.

work and home related things are getting interesting.  i’ll save those for another entry.

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2013

I’m reading, and pregnant, so I count as 1.5 persons all by myself 🙂

June 11, 2013

Were you Larry David-ing with that “pretty pretty pretty cool” line? Because that’s how I heard it in my head. Anyway, Gavo is OBSESSED with those Happy Yogis, as well as the puffs. I love the Happy Family brand.

Rett is all into “puffs”. If you say to him “Do you want a puff?” he gets all squealie and happy. Too cute. I am NOT looking forward to the cruising. We’re still rolling and scootching and I can barely keep up with that.

And yogurt melts? I haven’t seen those, must find. He loves pear yogurt and banana – we haven’t tried other flavors yet.

All of this makes me even more excited about having a baby! And I hope that Bobo’s Taco Bell cravings subside so that he’ll eat as healthy as Joaquin!

June 14, 2013

I love that you’re teaching him sign language!! How cool is that! wish I’d thought of it when my kids were little 🙂

Good on you for teaching him sgin language. ’tis a good skill to have! That oatmeal sounds the best. I need some.

Just catching up, and yes, I read still 🙂

August 19, 2013

<3