05/04/2010

When I first saw this ad, for Campbell’s Chunky Soup, I thought that it looked familiar.

Fully Loaded Man (Campbell’s Chunky Soup 2010)

Then I remembered these two ads

 

 

Solo Man (Solo Lemon Soda 1986)

Solo Man (Solo Lemon Soda 1990)

 

See the similarities? I sure do. I love it.

This is so typical of Australian advertising and our love of "taking the piss" (sending up) a popular theme.

Log in to write a note
May 4, 2010

Yeah, I rembered the Solo ads well, but well, I don’t think “fully loaded man” is such a good name! He could be fully loaded with something else other than the soup, you know what I mean? My sister used to talk about my nephew’s nappy being “loaded”!!!!!

May 4, 2010

These ads aren’t shy about pushing the “drink this and be manly” theme. In the States, soft drink and soup ads generally feature jolly families or groups of friends, while beer commercials stress the macho aspect (not quite as noisily as these spots, though).

May 4, 2010

did you get my text?

May 18, 2010