The Disappearing Act

Lately I’ve been feeling as though I’m disappearing.  Slowly the things that keep me connected to the world, physically and spiritually are dwindling. I’m tired of fighting to restore them, or just retain what remains.  It’s to the point that I wonder if I should stop struggling to hold onto what I am, or was. Perhaps it’s time to be someone else, and let the old die.As the old is done away with, it makes room for the new, or whatever that saying is.

This is my problem though, I don’t have anything new to replace it with. There are things that I want, but I’m scared, or tired to take the first steps. I’m not really sure which it is yet…

Log in to write a note
November 15, 2020

Change is scary, especially when we see it within us. Try to see it as a spring clean. Do an inventory of who you think you used to be, and who you feel like you are now (the bits that have changed, and new bits), think about which bits you like and try to hold onto those. With the bits that are more problematic…think about them. What purpose do they serve? Good or bad. Write a list of all the things you might want to try, big and small. Start by picking one of the small things to start. You’ll be surprised at how much of a confidence boost doing something new and a little ‘risky’ can feel. But, whoever you are now and whoever you end up being, if you have kindness in your heart, you are great.

November 15, 2020

PS, I meant to say, with the problematic bits…once you’ve worked out where they come from and their purpose in your life, you can choose to let go if they no longer serve you…or find a healthier way of addressing that purpose. Good luck x

Be like the phoenix, let the old self burn and let the new arise from the ashes! 🙂