Grandfather

His frail body lies before my tear-glazed eyes
and there’s nothing I can do to help him.
Control has withered and left us here to
battle with this incorrigable pain
making us say things that shall always remain.
My heart slowly folds into a used,paled,
shriveled up, faded amount of nothing.
I reach my hand out looking for a solid embrace
what once was there is now gone
nobody understands, nobody sees
if we don’t join as one all we are is debris
I will come to the heavens
and live and laugh with you
while the angels will dance
on their porcelain toes,
but just like my love for you
they will never shatter.

© Sasha Nova Platz All Rights Reserved.

Notes:
I wrote this in 1998 right before my grandpa died.

Log in to write a note
July 7, 2005

Wow, Sash, that is just beautiful. The images.. the porcelain toes…You have a beautiful gift. I am so lucky to have you as a friend.

July 7, 2005

Wow, Sash, that is just beautiful. The images.. the porcelain toes…You have a beautiful gift. I am so lucky to have you as a friend.

July 7, 2005

Wow, Sash, that is just beautiful. The images.. the porcelain toes…You have a beautiful gift. I am so lucky to have you as a friend.