Crossing Brooklyn Ferry

I am in a horrible mood today.  Turmoil in the world, summer days are slipping away, and I am not ready for fall.  I need to buckle down, clear out my inbox, breathe deep, get some exercise, eat something nourishing, and sleep deeply tonight.  

Too much noise lately, need to feel like myself again, get centered before the madness starts up all over again.  I’m not an introspective person but swimming is meditation, flowing with the flood-tide, ebbing with the ebb-tide, rolling with the waves.  Just need to remember how lucky I am to live, healthy and strong, surrounded by all these things I love.  

            
  
  
  
 
 

Log in to write a note
August 27, 2013

*hug*

There is something amazing about being weightless in the water.

I keep thinking I should get in the pool and be weightless… I’m so sick of feeling heavy and awkward. I think you just inspired me! Chin up lady, think fall food, and that good smell that fall adds to the air. Although… I’m not sure you get that in NYC, haha. Might me a Midwest thing. My favorite smell in the world is burning leaves. 🙂

August 27, 2013

is that water clean?

You’re a champ. I also just reread your Iceland entries because we’re thinking of going for Christmas/New Years. Thoughts? Can I do it for less than $5K do you think?

August 27, 2013

ahhhhh, i can’t believe you swim in that water!!!

My yoga teacher called yoga “moving meditation” and I loved that way of articulating it. Sounds like swimming is your moving meditation. Hang in there, keep swimming, and you’ll feel like yourself again soon. You know the way home.

ryn: I will be getting a new job in the next couple of months (I hope…otherwise I will be unemployed, as my boss is retiring and closing the company), so we’re waiting to see what my pay will be like (should be a big increase) and whether I’ll have time off. I did see some rental apartments for $100/night or less, which is a steal. Must consider and crunch numbers. Our alternative thought for Northern Lights/Arctic Circle trip is Yellowknife, in the Northwest Territories. Cheaper to get to, but my main concern is that if there are no aurora, wtf else are we going to do there, you know?

Wow cool, swimming in the Hudson! I think when we feel in a funk, that it is important to be grateful, as you say 🙂

August 27, 2013

That makes me miss home! Xo

August 27, 2013

I really feel this.

you have amazing talent. swimming is so hard. i love the water too but i am not capable of anything like that. anymore i’m lucky just not to drown when i’m in. getting centered and collecting your thoughts for a minute is always helpful when there is chaos surrounding you.

I can relate. Can’t even bring myself to write. You are amazing in the water. A natural.

I totally get what you mean by “too much noise.” I’ve been feeling the same. Gorgeous photos and life really is all about perspective! RYN: I wear Bare Minerals (Matte formula for my greasy skin, Fair is the color, the lightest of the light). It took me so long to find a make up that actually worked for me (I’d say I’m a living “vampire” as I rarely get full sun exposure lol), LOVE this stuff.

August 28, 2013
August 28, 2013

I always get depressed when Summer passes too…. but we’re heading towards it now so yay for the southern hemisphere 🙂

August 28, 2013

amazing.

August 29, 2013

RYN: Three of them, to be exact! His sons Owen King and Joe Hill are both writers. Joe’s excellent; I haven’t read anything by Owen, who (unlike his dad and bro) doesn’t write horror. Stephen’s wife Tabitha is also an author, but their daughter Naomi doesn’t write. I believe she’s a minister or rabbi or something like that.

August 29, 2013
August 29, 2013

r- yessss!

I feel the same way, except that I’m VERY ready for fall. Hope things get centered for you soon…

Ryn* ha, his dad is fixed, and not Catholic. It’s his mom and her siblings who are Catholics, some more so than others.

August 31, 2013

r- ha, no, sitting in the parking lot

September 3, 2013

oh how i love to swim… its very cathartic!

September 3, 2013

Hearing this news about Diana Nyad made me think of you. Kudos to you ladies !

September 9, 2013

That water looks cold! I love to swim but I could never do what you do – amazing!

pagemaster email cswic2rx@gmail.com

Ryn: it was the Rev3 race series, not M. which DQ’d him in Syracuse! Rev3 is way more easygoing and family friendly. They don’t have posters about rules everywhere or uptight people telling you “do this don’t do that” everywhere. And they had a bouncy castle at the finish line so Lilly had a ball while we were waiting! Finishing with your kids is encouraged! I love tommy boy and totally know

that it was set in Sandusky! Haha! Although whenever I tried to say that to people as a point of excitement re: my upcoming weekend, they irritatingly reminded me that it was shot in TORONTO. They totally missed the point. I mean, who can even hear the word “Sandusky” without cracking up due to Tommy Boy!! Party poopers.