You Better Work Bitch

Sometimes (often) I wonder how I got here.  How many people get to live the life they dreamed of when they were eight years old? When I was small, I pictured city lights, skyscapers, freedom.  Interesting work, travel, and I figured I’d have boyfriends but I don’t think I even dared to dream of a love like this.

After so long I’d have thought it would be comfortable, boring, but it’s still fiery, passionate, obsessive even.  Humans are amazing.  What else can you set aflame and have it burn, intensely, for fourteen years?  (Except those crazy sinkholes burning natural gas in abandoned mines and remote parts of Turkmenistan.  As opposed to the central parts of Turkmenistan, right?)

Sometimes I think, who is this lovely man, so dapper in a custom suit and hermes tie, kissing me before he leaves for work?  Where is my shaggy haired boy in shorts and a soccer tee-shirt, walking through campus with me, circa 2000?  (He’s still there, too.)  We’ve seen so much together.  I want to see everything, go everywhere, do everything, with him.

This city never ceases to make me happy…flashing lights even in daytime, masses of people, but all the things that can be annoying, are also thrilling.  People travel thousands of miles to see what we see every day.  Manhattan continually surprises me.  Some of it you might not appreciate, or even notice, but if you watch carefully, magic is happening every day.

This time of year is so crazy, in the midst of long days and constant stress I need to take a minute to remind myself what I am working so hard for.

I am so grateful for how far I’ve come, everything I’ve been given, and every single thing I’ve scratched and clawed for. It’s all worth it though, so worth it.

Log in to write a note
October 2, 2013

🙂

October 2, 2013

you’re inspirational 🙂

October 2, 2013

<3

October 2, 2013

Woo! You and S have been together a long ass time. Are you going to get married? Not that you need to, Paco and I are not planning marriage unless we’ve been together for a long ass time… like you and S have been.

October 2, 2013

I absolutely loved this. You always make NY sound so magical 🙂

Love this. 🙂 Have you and S really been together 14 years? I don’t know why that’s so surprising; I guess that you’re just so young that I assumed you got together later in life than that. Great entry.

Aww, what a great entry! Love is amazing and to live your dream is absolute bliss. I’m very happy for you =)

October 2, 2013

this is amazing!

You guys are the best. I love your relationship – it’s pretty much as close as you get to perfection. 🙂

October 2, 2013

Awwwwww! Bless :-):-) CD xxx

ryn- Do you have any pictures lying around of you and S as itty bitty college students? I’d totally love to see one. 🙂

October 2, 2013

Love it!

October 2, 2013

Awwww! I didn’t realize you guys had been together that long. It’s amazing that it’s been so many years and you’ve seen so much together yet you still feel that passion.

October 2, 2013

ryn: I totally agree with you that Stephen King doesn’t get the credit he deserves for being a great writer, though I think he’s gotten more respect after ’11/22/63′. I really liked Doctor Sleep! For me, nothing can top the creepiness of a giant isolated haunted hotel but I like how he worked elements of the Overlook into the new story. I didn’t love it the way I love the Shining but I definitelywasn’t disappointed either.

Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. I am so glad that the passion is still there and that you two work to keep it that way.

October 2, 2013

I love this, thank you!

This is such a joy to read. Thank you!

Love this!! Long term relationships are the best. Ryan and I have been together 12 years. Hard to believe how time has seemed to both speed up and slow down since then.

This entry is all kinds of awesome! 🙂

October 2, 2013

You are quite something.

October 2, 2013

ryn: Yes, meant as a compliment, absolutely.

October 3, 2013

wow. just. wow. What an incredibly beautiful and eloquent entry. I’m really glad that you see life like this, you love it and it loves you back – no doubt. And it warms me to read about your and your man. Some things – give me hope xx

October 3, 2013

And may there be another 65 years of all these good things 🙂

You certainly are living the dream and the cherry on top is that you have someone so special to share it all with. 🙂 Don’t take any of it for granted.

October 3, 2013

I am desperately envious!

Love this. So glad that someone has figured out how to “have it all” without losing sight of what is important.

October 3, 2013

I love this.

October 4, 2013

Raising a glass to you! (Or I will when I get off work ;)) Brava.

October 5, 2013

Love this! ryn: yeah, the shorts are lulu. so is the top. I pretty much only run in lulu now, I’m spoiled.

October 7, 2013

beautiful entry 🙂

October 13, 2013

🙂