Cont.

I went along to my appointment at the Employment Agency a 2:15. Rositta is working THERE now, she left Sarina in Jan, she says. It was kinda strange seeing her again within a short timeframe (such as 8mths compared to 10yrs since we finished highschool) because what more can you say? She asked me AGAIN whether I kept in touch with anyone from school, and again I told her that I keep in touch with Kiki once a year, otherwise I’m on Facebook as are many other people from highschool.

Finally Debbie called me to her desk. She was very rude and abrupt, and was treating me as though I was a criminal or something. Perhaps she was not impressed that I had rocked up 10-15mins late. (Oh well). I felt my chin jut forward involuntarily in reaction to her utterly despicable treatment towards me. She spat out to me that I was now receiving Newstart Allowance and as such it was part of the programme to be registered with an employment body such as them, and hence why I had the appointment set up with them today. It was the WAY in which she said all of this – honestly, I felt like I was in prison!

I remained my casual self. I said that I’d been on Newstart before. She eased up. She noticed I was pregnant, asked how far along I was, and I said I only had 3weeks to go. She softened up even more then and wondered aloud why I’d been sent by Centrelink to the appointment with her today. I explained that despite having a baby soon, career-wise I’m at a point where I’d like to start working casually in Admin, as I am completing a post-grad in HR. *winks* This always gets to these people, they can’t help but ADORE you when you show a glimpse of mental capability. She was an absolute dream after that. Treated me with the respect that I deserved in the first place. It’s like, that’s right – DON’T throw me into the basket of LOSERS you happen to deal with every day because *I* am not one of them.

People are a funny thing.

Once I got home, I was utterly exhausted. I lay down on the couch for a little bit before Sam got home. I just can’t keep laying on the couch with her hanging around and I didn’t feel like locking myself in my room this afternoon. I got up and about, and soon enough we were sitting at the table together, both having late lunches and immersed in conversation. She was in a good OPEN mood. She was speaking maturely. I like these conversations.

The hours slipped by us. Before we knew it, 2hrs had passed and Louis got home. The conversation continued lightheartedly between all 3 of us. It was very good.

Bebito got home tonight with a SURPRISE. That’s right – a surprise. This is a FIRST in our relationship. He came home with 2 dark chocolate Mars Bars : ) : ) : ) and just spread them them before my eyes whilst standing behind the couch, behind me. It was absolutely DELIGHTFUL lol. He’s so gorgeous. Pity I had already indulged with a Mars Bar earlier today.. which means I can’t / won’t have another one. Never mind, we shall indulge together another night : )

I’m really happy and excited tonight. I think it’s cos I’m hoping Mum’s guesstimate of Bubba’s arrival is correct…

PS: Regina Spektor is just sugary delicious..

PSS: I figured that the high electricity bill was also due to my extensice usage of the aircon over the last few months.. The pregnancy made the Summer unbearable to me and the aircon was on most times.. So yah…

 

Log in to write a note