Unexpected Solar Plexus

Sitting in this chair hurts so lets get this done as quickly as possible…

Last Thursday (the 22nd), Ashley gave me one of her kitty pacifiers because it was broken. She likes to bite on the nipple part and pull as hard as she can and the thing finally ripped. Saturday night, she broke the other kitty pacifier, which meant she had none. Which meant she started using me as a pacifier during the night. Sunday morning we went to Walgreens and got a 2-pack of the exact same nipple that used to be attached to the kitties, but she didn’t like them at night either. Fine during the day, but at night they were wrong and kept falling out of her mouth. It took me until Wednesday to attempt (successfully!) to sew the new nipples into the kitty’s mouth, because I was going crazy from lack of good sleep. Everything is back to normal now, thankfully. Reminder to self: get new needles. Stupid "self-threading" ones that I have, really all they do is un-thread when I need them to hold onto the damn string!

One of my 101/1001 goals is to not buy groceries (other than dairy/produce/bread) for a month. We started that on the 20th so we are … 11 (?) days in. Last week was our big shop-for-2-weeks-worth-of-meals trip, so this week is an inbetween one. It feels really weird and wrong, but I have 4 things on the list. Milk, yogurt, zucchini, and something else (can’t be bothered checking, this seat is noisy and I don’t want to risk waking the little one). The good thing is we live next to a grocery store so if I forget stuff it is easy to rush over and buy things. That store is expensive though, otherwise we’d do all our shopping there.

On Monday we went over to the mall to meet up with a woman from a facebook tag sale group. I bought a big dark-red rug. It is pretty awesome. We’ve had it in the kitchen this afternoon and it is just nice to have something soft on the floor. Now we have 2 rugs! They will be put where the belong eventually. One day I will get a chance to rearrange this place. Anyway, because we were out and about, we went out to dinner. We went to Maggie McFlys because it is cheap and tasty. I ordered the wrong pizza (Hawaiian instead of bbq chicken) but it was still good. Love spontaneous outings like that.

Tuesday, Matt and Lisa came over. Ashley had a great time with Mama and Pa.

Wednesday morning, Ash and I went for a walk and then a play in the pool nice and early. In the afternoon, Kerry came over for a play date with Ash.

Jake and I have been watching Roswell for the past few weeks. We just finished season 2 tonight. I’m so glad that is done because now I can talk to him about all the CLUES I’ve been seeing (I’ve seen the show before, he hasn’t) and can just generally hate on Tess.

Ashley is getting independent with her Elmo-watching. She watches Elmo’s World while I eat breakfast, which is lovely because I get to ease into the day. She calls it "ELMO Woorrrlk" which is hilarious. She is getting good at remembering what the show is about, I ask her what Elmo taught her and she can tell me "hands" or whatever it is. The other day she watched so many episodes (I am still working on her saying please, so when she says please unprompted she gets things straight away… and Elmo is a thing that gets her to say please) I actually ran out of things to do. Well, relaxing things.

Ashley has been using sentences all day. The best was when she told me she was going to go to the bathroom to "shower with daddy". She didn’t leave the bedroom, but I still think that was an awesomely funny thing to say (she’s actually scared of the shower). She is also getting really affectionate lately. She says "I you" for ‘I love you’, and she gives me kisses all day long. In the mornings she climbs into bed, climbs over me if needed, and gives me a kiss on the lips to wake me up. It is the cutest thing EVER.

Last week we bought a few DVDs (Land Before Time, Rocketman, Jack) and I’m really looking forward to getting some time to watch at least one of those movies this weekend.

For the past 2 days, Ashley has worn one of my MJ tshirts. All day. Including during nap. It drags along the ground a little but she just raises her arms if it really gets in her way. It is so freakin cute.

Log in to write a note
August 31, 2013

You’re such a good mum, Sez 🙂 I’m in need of a rug for my new place, but I am mostly just too lazy to find one 😛 xx

August 31, 2013

PS: I actually laughed out loud when I watched the MJ video of Ash. Was it just me, or did she make a beautifully articulated MJ “Ow!” sounds? 😛

August 31, 2013

Why does sitting in the chair hurt? Why an unexpected solar plexus? Ashley is soooo cute!! *giant hugs*

Love this.