Forgiveness

 

i never have claimed to have been the perfect parent.  For the 2nd time in the last 6yrs my 27 yr old daughter is telling me I haven’t matured enough so “good-bye”. I tried to do what I could with what I had as a single mom.  The kids were in activities, and I went to school and worked 3 jobs.  Never did I or do I want a pat on the back.  But it truly breaks my heart to not have a relationship with me daughter and am told I was a bad mom by her.  It just hurts!

Log in to write a note
September 7, 2018

My daughter was as yours at that age.  I too was hurt.  My daughter is now 33 years old and is beginning to come around.  Everyone always used to tell me to keep reaching out to my daughter even when she would have nothing to do with me.  That’s what I did.  Finally, she’s come around but it’s still not as much as I wish.  I’m so very sorry for the pain you are feeling.  You are an amazing mother who did the very best that she could.  I truly feel your daughter will come to believe this as well.

September 7, 2018

@wildrose_2

Not sure if I’m doing this correctly on here as my response. But it’s odd as well my son who is a few years younger Than my daughter adores me.   My daughter has not spoke to me in years until recently and decided I wasn’t mature enough so is up to her rudeness again.  I just wonder what gives these kids the right.  If we all quit talking to our parents for past things no one would be talking.

September 7, 2018

I have a toxic mom, and a distant adult child. It’s an awful place to be.

September 7, 2018

@e3

it is an awful place to be!  I’m a grammie but not by blood and my daughter is very jealous of that as well.