Lessons From Leaving a Job

So I left my COX CSR position, which went effective February 14th this year, after only a few months in it.

I woulda stayed, but maybe not, since I could’ve made an attempt to cancel the voluntary termination by any means possible.

I guess it was because I knew I was just getting started. Even though my hire date was October 27th 2021, it didn’t feel like work until the first day and week that I started taking calls. I think I started on December 12th 2021. The four weeks of training just felt like bullshitin’ to me. I got my boot USB information on the 2nd and 4th of November 2021. The 2 AWS USBs were delivered on November 1st. At some point, maybe 2 weeks before the calls would start I coulda looked at those job articles. But then where would I start? Ah, I’d be even more confused.

Maybe it was too much of a mental case for a first job. I’m glad I got a taste of that structure. I think, hmm, it’s hard to nip someone’s suspicitions in the bud. Like people can’t take that what they’re asking for is just not possible. With TV especially, there’s so many ways it can go. People who’ve had several boxes fail, or someone still holding a grudge at not having a tech visit go the way they wanted. Laughing that I would have the gall to ask what self troubleshooting steps they’ve gone through after an outage has closed. But it’s not for me to take personally, or to take as an attack on my usefulness as a human being. I am worth giving myself chances, even if others won’t. And I am worth taking pride in my EFFORTS, despite the outcome. At times, I’m gonna have to repeat the same point over and over, testing my patience, which can create doubt in my answers. When the customer or client senses that doubt, ohh baby.

Anyway, here’s my second shot at suceeding and staying put in a job. Wishing the best.

Log in to write a note