weird bible section

I was just going through my parents’ Catholic bible, complete with apocrypha, to find some more (specifically Ruth “Wherever you go, I will go” reading, which I have loved forever) and stumbled on the book of Sirach. Anyone remember All inthe Family? Well, Sirach reads like Archie Bunker wrote a book of the bible. Its so weird its hilarious- lots of complaining about women, such as “an angry wife has an expression that looks like a bear, and her husband will have to go eat dinner at the neighbor’s house”. I’m tempted to put some of it in my wedding to put some laughter in with all the crying (my family are all BIG criers)

Log in to write a note
September 28, 2010

We had a reading from Tobit in our wedding, which is a pretty cool story. But yes, I remember Sirach, haha.

September 28, 2010

That being said, I would appreciate it if the holy books of my religion were not used as a source of mockery and laughter in our wedding, although of course you can do whatever you want to.

October 1, 2010

RYN: Yeah, I am a little sensitive, but people have done crazy things at weddings, and I think I’m just at the point where all the people who think nothing of mocking or denigrating the Church (sometimes right in front of me) have got me on a razor edge.

October 7, 2010

I have to admit that made me laugh. Almost makes me want to see if I could find a copy just to read it myself. RYN: I haven’t read Robin McKinley’s blog, but I did check it out, and I think I have to from now on! Lots of hugs, John

November 21, 2010

RYN: I got a good laugh out of your note! If it was a euphemism, it would be “Ninja Husband Time”, but Ninja Husband Time rarely gets missed. Hugs, John

April 15, 2011

Thanks for the congratulatory remarks!

May 10, 2011

Very random. Good…to remember..? wtf? haha