Almost fell for it

Still looking for work. I applied for several more jobs today, but I nearly fell for a job scam…the OTR trucking school.

CR England, a large trucking company,  advertises that they will pay for your schooling and guarantee a driving job with their company if you give them a year of your life. I applied with them (after filling out nearly 100 applications over the past 4 months, this one was easy…too easy to be true). Two recruiters contacted me with the deal. I told them I had to talk it over with my wife first. She wisely advised me to talk to my cousin, who is an owner-operator.

I’m glad I did. When he told me the recruiters work on commission, the light finally came on in my head.

So much for the trucking business.  Back to square one.


Trying not to let depression get the better of me today. I can tell when it and anxiety runs high…my dreams become longer and more realistic.  I took a long nap and while dreaming I saw a woman that I recognized but really didn’t know. She was sitting in a car wearing a prom dress, smiling but also with tears streaming down her cheeks. I have no idea what it means but it stuck with me for quite awhile after I woke up.

Log in to write a note
August 4, 2018

Sometimes dreams are just a reflection of our random subconsciousness.

Job scams are very depressing. There are some companies, around here, who will legitimately pay for you to get your CDL license while you complete training with them, as long as you have a clean driving record, but it is true that you have to be careful, when applying for jobs like that.