If your happy and you know it, keep it to yourself

Today I was reminded of something about the general population and that is, if you are happy others are not.

As you know, my hubby just finished his internship with the FDIC, an awesome opportunity that not many get. It was so awesome in fact that it ended with a job offer. Not many people can say that they will walk off the stage into a guarantee job. The job will require us to move nearly 8 hours away from family to a city that I , for some unknown reason, am convinced that I have always wanted to live. I visited once for a weekend and fell in love.

Anywho, I first shared the news with my mother and instead of congratulations, that’s so awesome, I am happy for you. I got it’s going to be cold there, they are so segregated (black and white), it’s expensive, that’s far away.
OK so A. I wasn’t asking for your opinion, this was informational only and B. regardless of any negatives, we kind of don’t have a choice, especially in this economy. I mean it’s a Federal Job, with a pretty damn good starting pay, and my family will be fine.

I was met with the same negativity when I shared the news with my co-workers. Again we new what our options were when we started this journey and would not have gone this far if it didn’t benefit our family.

So I suppose that from now on any good news that I have will be kept to myself and everyone else can just be surprised as I’m walking out the door.

With this job, we will first and far most be getting out of this black hole of a town, we will double our household income, we will both be federal workers which is good because either one of use can transfer to where ever the other goes and not to make this a racial thing but we will be one of the few successful African American families in the US. We will be like the Cosby’s without all the kids.

I’m not bragging but we worked hard, sacrificed, and put up with a lot of bull to get to this point, if you can;t jump on my happy train, then you can kiss my ass.
 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Created by MyFitnessPal – Free Calorie Counter

Log in to write a note
August 12, 2013

If only this was Facebook I would like, like, like!!

August 12, 2013

If only this was Facebook I would like, like, like!!

August 12, 2013

It’s brutal that people bring us down instead of saying ‘congratulations’ and being happy for us instead of feeling their lives don’t measure up.

August 13, 2013

Congratulations! You guys worked hard to get here, you deserve nothing but happiness.

August 13, 2013

Well I am happy for your good news. Congratulations!

August 13, 2013

That is fantastic news! The nay-sayers can kiss your ass. I’m proud of your husband (and I don’t even know him!) and I’m excited for what this means for you and your little family! 🙂

August 13, 2013

My mom is the same way whenever I tell her good news. It’s like ok why can’t you just be happy for me for once? So happy for you guys though!! That’s awesome!

August 19, 2013

yay i can note! anyway, i know my notes are late! people suck… urgh. I’m happy for you!!!!