Backward day

Lucky me gets to work a 12 hour day/night so to speak. My regular shift is seconds or 2 to 10. But tonight I have a 6p to 6a. I slept in this morning and my phone did ring, unlike yesterday. So when I got up I had gotten a text from my friend Mel’s niece asking if I could go and let the dogs out. Mel and her roommate are in South Caroling and her niece is dog sitting. I was going to be the dog sitter, but Ashley said she wanted to stay there. So I went in and let all 4 puppies out. I then went home and sat in my recliner until time to come to work. I decided that I would drive my Mustang to work since it was such a beautiful day. I put the top down and just cruised on to work. Would have been a good day to have taken a longer drive, but work would have frowned on that.

My big dilemma right now is should I buy the motorcycle that my friend Scott has for sale. I had a bike several years ago, and sold it to help a friend? out. I never got the money out of her, but I never got the bike back. But Scott has a 2004 Honda Rebel that he got out of a garage and got a clear title for. I trust Scott to tell me if there is a problem with the bike and he assures me that it is a good buy. I just put a roof on my house and have spent more money than I am used to, so I can’t decide if I should buy the bike or not. I could sell it for what I am paying for it, so I may tell him that I will take it. It would complete my list of vehicles that I have wanted for some time.

I have been tearing out the old vinyl and tile floor in my kitchen, and I got to rip thru 5 layers of crap. I didn’t think it would be that bad, but wow, what a mess. Why if you had a hardwood floor, would you put nasty tile and cardboard over it. Might have been a sign of the times, but it ruined the hardwood enough that short of hiring a professional refinisher to take it back down to rough finish, I guess I will cover it with something. The old tile/vinyl was cracked and broken and had nails driven it in to hold it down. I even found some that had been stapled. Really, stapling a floor tile down just doesn’t even sound logical. I had gotten a dumpster when the roofer was coming, so I decided that this would be the perfect time to rip the floor out and dispose of it also. And then I started tearing off the paneling left on the wall also.

This new found energy that has overtaken me sure is costing me money, but for the first time in a long time, I am motivated to get this house back into shape. My poor puppies think I have lost my mind. I got really excited over getting a new roof, I don’t know what reaction I’ll have to a new floor. But I look forward to what it will be. I have some new beadboard that my brother gave me, so I may recover the walls with that. It is an off white color, and I may do a creamsicle color themed kitchen. Oh the times to come are exciting.

Log in to write a note
July 28, 2013

I joked that removing the linoleum in our kitchen was a walk back in time of Sears colors: Butcher Block, Harvest Yellow, Avocado Green, etc. 🙂 Been down that “friends” road myself. It taught me to not loan out anything I wanted to keep.

July 29, 2013

I am excited about your renovations in progress and planned. It sounds exciting and a lot of hard work, not to mention a few dollars. 😉 But you will feel so awesome and proud once it is complete and glad you have invested in your home. Would love to see pictures eventually.