Another Year…. Nothing Has Changed

Well Happy New Year…. so far, I’ve dececided this year will be a year of cleansing… total cleaning of everything that is associated with me… Friends ( which i don’t have any) home( closets, cabinets, etc) finances ( cleaning up my mess of my credit, and figuring out how I will make it out of serious debt)… Just a total cleaning of everything including the way I think…

I’m supposed to go see a psychiatrist Wednesday…evidently, I’m experiencing high anxiety…and they think I need medication… That I’m not sure I need to do… I’m totally afraid of being on mental medication… I don’t want to be on it forever….but when I think about how I feel when the anxiety is running ramped, its rough so I don’t think I would mind the meds, I guess I just don’t want to be on it forever?

It makes me nervous because I’m trying to think have I always had anxiety problems, and just didn’t know what it was? I wonder if there are some ways to reduce anxiety…. sometimes I don’t even realize that it is happening until its too late and my blood pressure has reached a dangerous high…

is there anything I can do to stop this without Med’s? What should I be asking the psychiatrist when I get to the appointment?

Log in to write a note
January 18, 2011

I have anxiety, and really the only things that help manage it continuously are regular exercise and quiet time (reading, just sitting something peaceful and thinking). When a panic attack flares up, deep breaths help too. Anxiety sucks, I’m sorry you’re dealing with it. I tried xanax for awhile, but that just made me really sleepy. If you do go the medication route, I hope you find something thatworks for you!

March 25, 2012

There are plenty of other things to do to manage anxiety but I’ve never tried it without medication. Yeah high anxiety does require some form of action. Deep breaths can be helpful.