Do you like coffee? Only with my oxygen.

So the title is actually from season 1 episode 5 of Gilmore Girls in which Max Medina asks Lorelei if she likes coffee. I thought this line would be perfect for a title because I love coffee as well as Gilmore Girls. Usually, I have coffee about twice a day in a tumbler that is ceramic lined to keep the coffee hot as well as protecting the flavor. Metal cups make the coffee taste bad. I always make time to drink my coffee when I’m alone so that I can relax and read whatever book I am currently into. I also do my best to sit outside somewhere peaceful at the same time. I have a little metal patio table and chairs right outside the front door of my apartment under a covered walkway. I try to do this every morning to start my day before doing ANYTHING else, including eating breakfast.

Where I work at, there is a relaxing outside seating area for employees. It is a large area surrounded on all sides by buildings with a large fountain right in the middle and metal tables and chairs as well as park benches surrounding it. It has plenty of shade from planted trees too. Usually, I do not get to sit out there on my break at work because I work alone. I am a telephone operator for a small hospital that’s only for mothers having babies and all manner of OBGYN specialties. They only need one operator because in my daily 8 hour shift, I might receive about 80 calls. I have a lot of free time to watch TV or whatever else I want to do while I’m working, so technically I do not clock out for lunch because I can’t turn off my phone. I just eat my lunch and answer calls at the same time if I should happen to get one.

But with this virus stuff going on, my boss’s hours have been cut. Her boss told her that she can only make up the hours by working in my department. None of the operators hours have been cut though because there always has to be an operator in the office, 24/7. So, a few days a week, including today, she has been joining me, answering about half the calls, and allowing me to take a real lunch break. So instead of taking my break to eat lunch, I took it to have a second cup of coffee today with my book out at that fountain. I just ate my lunch the way I normally do to reserve my break for that fountain. And what a beautiful day it is today too. It was just what the doctor ordered. I am currently reading The Beach House by Mary Alice Monroe.

Log in to write a note