Walking but Going Nowhere at All

I’m so happy the gyms here re-opened. I would MUCH rather walk on a treadmill than on the cement anywhere. When I walk on the cement, my ankle acts like it can’t handle it after the first day and I have to wear one of those Futuro ankle wraps. This is because of an injury from being hit by a drunk driver more than a decade ago. The front of my car slammed into the side of his truck at about 45 mph. He then took off and the cops had to chase him down. He stayed one night in jail and was released. Turned out he wasn’t from our state and the truck he was driving belonged to a friend of his and was registered in a totally different 3rd state. So when he was released he went back to his home state and I was told by a lawyer that I could not sue him or anything.  So I got nothing from it except a totaled car, and a swollen leg from where my knee slammed into the dashboard. The swelling went down after a few days, the sharp pain in my knee when I bent down after a few months, but my ankle still doesn’t like walking long distances on the hard concrete. However, when I walk on a treadmill, I have no problem whatsoever. I guess it’s the softer Nylon or whatever the belts are made of. I also like treadmills because you can change your incline up and down for a much more efficient exercise experience. Right now, we don’t live in a space that will allow for a treadmill and neither will our new place. So I’m happy our gyms re-opened here. It’s my favorite form of exercise and it’s how I lost 10 pounds before this virus crap started.

Log in to write a note