BEYOND THE PINES

No one knows where the Spirit World is.

The ancient people said that it is beyond the pines.

The pine trees are at the edge of the world,

and beyond them is the path of the winds.

The Spirit Way begins there at the edge of the world

among the stars, and the winds will tell the spirits of people where to find it.

What is Life?

It is the flash of a firefly in the night.

It is the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime.

It is the little shadow that runs across the grass

and loses itself in the sunset.

Paul Goble

I was led to this beautiful native american saying, my spirit was restless and I was yearning to relieve my sufferings and anguish. So many feelings to sort out last night.

My patient, a delightful and elegant women, the sweetest ninety-five year old Alzheimers patient one could be lucky enough to grace her presence–died last night.

I called her “Ms Nordstroms” because she dressed to the T’s, beautiful shiny white hair, she always applied her own make up, albeit applying cranberry lip liner to her eyebrows, It didn’t matter to me she was a vision of loveliness in my eyes.

She made me laugh and smile; hanging out in her room became my hiding place for 15 minutes each day. We kicked back and listened to Tony Bennett. She loved Tony, in fact, she told me we could share him- I could have the top half and she could have the much lower half of Mr Bennett. She would sit in her rocking chair cuddling her babies -“the kids”-she would say. I knew that she had lost one of the babies during child birth. She was very happy in her own little world–she was 23-years old.

As the months fly by-winter onto spring and now almost summer, Ms Nordstroms was changing with the seasons. She had lost her appetite, didn’t care about her appearance, the kids were left in the bassinet unattended, she selected clothes that didn’t match. One day in the middle of spring I noticed that she lost her ability to speak tangibly, more gibberish with only a few recognizable words. I knew that she was in the 7 and final stage of Alzhiemers disease. I feared her long goodbye would come before summer. With my 20 years of knowledge of dementia, I new it would be only a matter of time for me to say goodbye.

I went back into her room today and sat on the cold hospice bed mattress sans all her frilly gingham sheets, flowery comforter. I glanced around her room, she had every wall just about covered with puppy dog and kitty posters. These made me smile. A baby bassinet filled to the brim with her dolls. Laughing, she really thought these dolls were her real babies. She was such a good mommy. Laughing again, thinking about how she used to try to feed these plastic dolls. She wouldn’t even sleep in her own bed, she would say “the bed is for the kids”. She slept in the recliner up until the family brought in the bassinet.

I sat on the bed for 15 minutes and reflected I was missing her. I turned on her CD player and listened to TONY in honor of her, my friend. I was so busy being her nurse that I didn’t allow myself time to grieve. I needed to make sure she was pain free, Morphine and Ativan under the tongue every 2 hours, I needed to remind the caregivers to change her position every two hours, I needed to listen and answer to the many, many questions from her family, playing the part of good hostess/nurse. A few family members were having problems with unresolved issues. I said it was ok to give her permission to die it is the final gift of love. Hearing remains all the way to the end, I knew Ms Nodstroms was waiting to have permission to die. Her Great Grandson came into to play the Violin, This was my exit to give her family some privacy, there really was nothing more that I could offer. I left her room knowing that I would never grace her presence again IN THIS WORLD I might add.

I’m missing you tonight my friend, you taught me how to age gracefully.

Log in to write a note
June 8, 2005

*hugs*

June 8, 2005

You’re an amazing person. This entry brought tears to my eyes, keep up the good work..the world needs more caregivers like you.

you make it sound so beautiful., but I know it was painful.

June 8, 2005

age? you and this entry are timeless…

June 8, 2005

this reminds me of my old grandma who passed away in a home. she taught me a lot, also.

Oh how beautiful. You certainly do have Grace and a lovely heart! I’m sorry for your loss of friendship, but happy for her to be able to move on! Hugs

June 8, 2005

Re: I don’t know if you’re just saying that or you really do want to try them as pets, lol, but if you do want to give them a shot – I’d definitely have to say to do your research because they aren’t as cheap and easy as I was lead to believe they would be.

June 8, 2005

Sigh. So hard, isnt it? I worked in long term care many years ago and became attached to a few, I could feel your experience with her; one that sounded like a man I once knew with the brightest blue eyes..he’d bring me chocolate almost every day then tell me I was getting fat! Id say dont bring me the chocolate but he always did cuz it made him feel good to make me happy! RIP Ms. N.

June 9, 2005

Good-bye is the hardest word to say in every language there is. To say a final good-bye with such loving grace is a gift that will linger with you both for a long time to come.

June 9, 2005
June 9, 2005

You are one special lady…how wonderful that you are graced with special people like Mrs. Nordstroms – if only for a while. {hugs} to you….from me and all the angels as well.

My friend: This was so beautifully written and so poignant in content that I just submitted it to Reader’s Choice. What a loving tribute from a nurse who cares. I know all too well the frustration of being busy “nursing” to be able to sit and get to know my patients sometimes. I connected with each and every emotion in this entry. Even the lipstick to the eyes. This is an award-winning entry.

June 9, 2005

I love your entries so much. This read like a wonderful elegy for this woman you cared for.

June 9, 2005

Ahhh…sweet. Goodnight sweet Ms Nordstroms, and flight of angels sing thee to thy rest. You wrote this so beautifully. Oh, I think someone playing the violin at the sunset of a life is just magnificence!

June 10, 2005

she was lucky to have you be a part of her life….

I never want to start out my day with tears but the kind of tears I got from this entry are good ones 🙂 *Hugs*

After having read that entry yesterday that I submitted to RC for it’s beauty in form and loving kindness, I would be honored to work along side of you, my friend. Your note of kindness did not go unnoted. Thank you. Your facility is blessed to have you working for them.

June 11, 2005

I too have tears in my eyes as I read this entry, but as a previous noter wrote, they are good tears. I love the way you treat and honor your patients and I am sure you touched her heart as she obviously did yours. You are in my prayer smoke to bless you for your kindness and comfort you in your loss.

SOC
June 12, 2005

You were a Rainbow Girl?? So cool! Yeah, the dances were usually pretty cool.

June 12, 2005
June 14, 2005
June 14, 2005

I don’t know if I’ve ever told you this, but reading your entries is such a comfort to me. Knowing that there are nurses like you out there. I was so grateful to the nurses who took care of my dad, and if ever any of my family needs care for Alzheimer’s–I would be so happy knowing they were in your care. You’re truly a special person. 🙂

January 3, 2006

I found my way back to this entry through your Chapters. This is one of the most beautiful accounts of two human beings sharing some time together in their lives here on earth. You could be my nurse anytime… you are such a caring, dear person.