“HELP ME PLEASE”

My medication Tech wrote this beautiful poem today about “My Harry”

I had written an entry devoted to him over a year ago but sadly, it was lost in the great OD hack. I hope to write another tribute about him soon. He is the man that I can’t wait to see every morning. “My Harry”, my patient with Alzheimer’s Disese and who is also blind. He has Double the trouble one might say. He is truely my best friend. The strongest person I know. I cried this morning when the poem was read to me today, I was touched deeply.

“Help me Please”

“Help me please “is his cry

you ask his need

confusion is his reply

The Nurse gives him a pill

for his mind and soul

to be still

In quiet slumber he just sits there

his face with a sad blank stare

what is the need

behind his plea?

A gentle touch or

soft word from me?

Once a man of such might

& power now looks to me

for help with his daily shower

years ago was his life

a home, 2 children

and a beautiful wife

now his dear wife

of many years is gone

his children all grown

with families of their own

so time has brought him to this place

loss of memory

and confusion on his face

what is the need behind this plea?

a gentle touch or soft

word from me.

Author: K. Marshall

Log in to write a note

Heartbreaking. What you do is wonderful.

August 15, 2005

xoxo

SOC
August 15, 2005

Beautiful! My greatest fear, the thing that truly strike terror in to my heart, is getting oldand infirm, or some kind of massively disabling illness or injury.

August 16, 2005

I really admire the work you do. It can’t be easy.

August 16, 2005

{{hugs}}

August 16, 2005

I found you from a mutual fave. I read this and it brought tears to my eyes…My uncle who is 59 has been diagnosed with Alzheimers..and we are struggling with things now about what to do for him…if we have to put him in a home, I hope he meets someone like you…someone that cares. Hope you have a good day!

August 16, 2005

Having relatives with alzheimers…this touched me greatly.

August 16, 2005

Sweet…

Beautious! Touches the Heart! HUGZ

August 16, 2005

Re: If you want to request to be added to her Faves, I promise she is worth reading… And thank you for what you said about me, by the way. I really appreciate that. 🙂

August 16, 2005

I’m ssooooorryyyy! You getting stressed from my stress is causing me to stress more TOO! :: dead ::

the horror of that disease.

August 17, 2005

Alzhiemers is in my family and I fear it very much…

August 17, 2005

That’s one I’d like to add to my poetry collection credited to you, of course. Beautifully written. I miss my Golden Girls.