THOSE WERE THE DAYS

This is one of my favorite photos! Can you guess which one is me?

I was raised up in Lakewood, Washington (the great northwest) with my five sisters and Genny, who was our foster sister. I remember when my mom had a home daycare and on a typical day she would be taking care of 20 children. My father had to convert our garage into “The play room”.

My mother bought every Fisher Price toys she could find at the Value Village. God, I used to love going to that store. I remember those plastic bags full of grab bag toys for a buck. To this day, I still love going to thrift shops. You just never know what you can find.

I had a wonderful life growing up. We could play all day outside and would come in when mom would turn on the porch light. We were free to be creative, didn’t have to wear shoes in the summer time. We could chase after the ice-cream trucks–until our hearts content, You could say that we were footloose and fancy free.

We could ride 4-ever on our bikes in the tight “Catholic ” community of Westwood Drive and knowing that all the mothers kept a watchful eye on us.

I really miss those days, times have changed so much. Sadly, the world is a different place now. How I wished I could still live in the Brady Bunch ERA

*******I’m at the bottom row in the middle********

Log in to write a note

I like thrift shops and I enjoyed getting a grab bag and really liking what I got.