Keep Calling Me

lilypie first birthday tickers

 

 

Staying home is going well. I’m trying to figure out my groove here and reminding myself that it’s how things are going to be for awhile. I still sometimes feel like I’m waiting for the next step, the next job, the next move. But we’re here for awhile and I’m staying home with my kids and  have the chance to be the kind of mother I want to be.

After the heat subsides that is.

It’s been so hot/humid that I haven’t been sleeping much and have no energy to get much done. But hopefully, now that we have an a/c, I can start getting things going again. I’ve been meal planning, keeping up with diaper and regular laundry and that’s about it so far lol

It’s weird though because the real reason I’m staying home is that I felt strongly called to do so.  I am not terribly religious but I am spriritual and have been opening myself up to hearing what the universe/God/mother earth is telling me. I was so strongly drawn to being home with my kids that we’ve taken a huge leap of faith to do this.

Did I mention we started church? We’re still shopping around but  have gone three times to one church. We’re going to try a different one this weekend. We’ve met some nice people and I’m building a support system of mothers in the area.  Hopefully these friendships can blossom and I’ll have some local girlfriends to whom I  can turn and spend time with when I need to get away. Which is soon–I’m going a little batty.

But I digress.

So we started church to help give us peace of mind with the changes we’re going through. I’m not sure who or what I believe in completely but the ideas behind all of them cannot be argued with–treating others well, loving each other, loving ourselves, giving back to the community, being unconditionally loved by a higher power. How can that be bad–whatever label you put on it?

I’m still being called to something more though. I feel that staying home was just the first step.

I’ve always wanted to be a foster parent and/or adopt a child or children. I’ve never had the time or the space or the stability in my relationship to really be fair.  But things are slowly coming together.

I have an awesome relationship. I simply c ould not ask for a better partner in life. My husband is amazing and takes such good care of all of us. He is a provider at heart and is willing to do WHATEVER it takes so that I can be home with our children, so that I can follow my heart and my dreams. I have a few other callings that I’ve shared with him and he is willing to do what he can to make them happen. I’ll share them another time because I really want to focus on this one.

I have the time now that I am staying home. Adding another person or two would be hectic but amazing. We’ve talked about having another child, and we may, but this feels like what I’m supposed to be working toward.

We  have the space. Kathryn’s room is huge and we could easily and comfortably fit another bed or two in there. Anna doesn’t really even use her room yet so we have that as well.

What IS holding us back is the fact that we don’t have a vehicle to transport anyone else. Our cars cannot fit another person safely, particularly if that person needs a carseat. So there’s that stumblling block. However, we are going to work on that as much as we are able to. If it comes down to it, next year at tax time we can purchase a larger vehicle. That’s less than a year away. It seems far, but in the grand scheme of life, it’s not.

Our life is not perfect and finances are always going to be an issue and I don’t have my master’s degree done yet. But we have a lot of love to give and I feel inspired by several of my friends who aren’t in much different situations than us and are making great changes in the lives of some little people.  I want to be like them when I grow up 🙂

~Tav

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 25, 2013

Staying home rocks. Happy for you! xo

June 25, 2013

This whole entry brought chills to me. I’m so happy for you! It sounds like you really know where you want to be going and I LOVE that you have a supportive, loving husband now!

June 25, 2013

I’m glad things are going so well for you at this point in your life. I mean, there were a lot of crappy/depressing years. So, it’s nice to hear that you have what you finally deserve! Marriage can be so good!

June 25, 2013

I’m glad things are going so well for you at this point in your life. I mean, there were a lot of crappy/depressing years. So, it’s nice to hear that you have what you finally deserve! Marriage can be so good!

June 25, 2013

I think it’s very exciting that you are talking about having more kids. It’s so nice to see you so happy!

Even if you’re not ready for it, there would be no harm in finding out more about fostering. I know here in the uk they wont allow you to be a foster mother if you have your own child under 2 year of age and you also HAVE to have a spare bedroom for the foster child. So it might be worth is to contact them now and just ask for future reference.

June 26, 2013

From personal experience, the process takes a long time- whether to foster or adopt, it’s essentially the same… so it doesn’t hurt to at least look into it. Also: *squish* There are parts of this entry I could have written myself. I, too, am feeling “called.” Or pulled. Or something. 🙂

It’s amazing thinking you are becoming “That Mom”. I seem to recall not too long ago you didn’t think you could do the stay at home thing, and now look at you! You are ROCKING at it 🙂

Aww so glad you’re doing what you want to be doing. I too have been feeling a need to do more…You’re a great Mom and such a wonderful person, I have no doubt that when the time is right you’ll step in to help someone else. For me it’s more about spirituality over religion. The religion should fit your inner desires, not the other way around. You’ll know when you feel the perfect fit.

June 27, 2013

You sound like you are in such a wonderful place. I am so happy for you! I love being able to stay at home with my boys. There are days it makes me want to pull my hair out, but really, I love it.