Minor Fixes

Hello everybody,

I spent most of the day going through e-mail – as of this evening, I’ve answered 382 e-mails today. My fingers are a little tired. Sorry that it got backed up somewhat, but today was the first chance this week I had to tend to it.

In any case, here are some minor fixes/changes from my trip through the OD Inbox:

  1. Somebody suggested to put an “add to my profile” link on the page that lists all of the diarists who are in an interest group. Makes sense – that way you can join right there if you like the looks of the group.
  2. The links to go back more than 50 entries on the previous theme screen weren’t working – they were giving you pages from the current theme. That’s been fixed.
  3. The OD Utilities page has been added to the sitemap.
  4. The colors of the links in the Diary Maintenance menu were wrong – they’ve been fixed so they display correctly with your diary colors.
  5. The entry count on the Entry Manager screen wasn’t updating correctly when you deleted entries. This has been repaired (didn’t want to say fixed again).
  6. The Favorites list was not bolding if you had a favorites only diary and you updated. This way, your favorites were never seeing if you updated – but that’s been remedied (jumping to the Word thesaurus now).
  7. The last one was not a bug, but a decision (I can make those, too). A while back, I changed the code that bolds the Favorites list so that it would make a diarist bold if they edited (in addition to when they added) their most recent entry. At the time, I thought that this made sense, because some people add entries basically blank and then go back to edit them and fill them in. However, it seems that all of us are a lot more likely to go back and edit our latest entries than I originally thought (heck, I’ll probably edit this three times). With the code the way it was, I would move to the top of your favorites update list (being presumptious and assuming I’m on your favorites) each time that I edited. Many people found this highly irritating.

    That’s a lot of explanation for a simple thing – I’ve changed it back to the way it used to be. Which means that the favorites list will be updated when you first save your most recent entry, but not when you edit it.

That’s it for now – that’s a bunch of little stuff, but I felt like doing them rather than adding them to the list that’s on my whiteboard.

The DiaryMaster

That’s right, I used the word “heck”. Go ahead. Make fun.

Log in to write a note

thank you

thats funny, because #7 had been bugging me quite a bit lately.

Thank you for taking away that note I asked you about. 🙂

you said heck.

Don’t worry, I would not report you if you used the word, “hell”. 🙂 Uh OH! I just swore in a note to the DM!!!! *EEEK*

My email was one of the ones you answered. Thank you. 🙂

No one should make fun of you for using “heck.” It’s a heck of a word. 😉

is the circle problem very far down the list?

You write a little like Craig from Craigslist. Is it just a friendly tech-speak thing or are you the same person?

Thank you for your hard work to make OD/FOD as pleasant as possible. I am sure most people complain and whine, but I wanted to thank you. Be well,

If I save an entry to private, then make it public, it doesn’t show up as updated. Is that because I’m fav’s only? <3

i live in memphis-heck ain’t nothing. 😉

HA ha! *points* You used ‘heck’! *runs away* Oh, yea… I have a question for you, but I gotta go get the information before I ask the question. BRB.

Are you the webmaster for this site?: http://www.thedaily.com/menagerie.html Just curious. It’s my home page now cuz I thought it was really convenient and cool. Although I have yet to take advantage of the ‘shop online’ aspect… make no mistake… I will, *giggles and nods like Yoda* oh yes… I will.

Another “boggle” note: The things that annoy people around here boggle the mind. 🙂 Have a lovely, problem and e-mail free weekend.

could you please delete all the moron diary place diaries? they’re spamming people with notes trying to get od’ers to switch service & it’s just getting flat out annoying. they’re even on rc now.

Hey, the site is working great lately – I’m guilty of being fairly critical of this site in the past, and it’s nice to see it running so smoothly. Cudos!

I actually liked that it bolded when you edited because sometimes people edit a certain entry on purpose. ah well, no biggie 🙂

Awwwwwwwww, you’re everyones favorite!

I MUCH preferred the favorite to bold if they edited. Having seen it both ways, I think it really stinks that you changed it again.

Thanks for everything that you do! =) That’s a lot of emails to read and answer. Have a good weekend!

Please, please, please do something about “esoterica” who stole my name. She has already been mistaken for me and is becoming quite hateful with her game.

you’re on my favorites list! =) heck heck heck. okay, its out of my system. rock on!!!

You must do so much work. I’d go crazy. But I just want to say thank you for spending so much time with this opendiary page… It’s a wonderful place for me and my poetry. =) >>>

you might want to take a look at a diary called “diaryplace.com” thank you… they have been leaving lots of irritating notes and stuff on people diaries… so thanks a lot!

I am unsure if you are aware of this. But there is a diariest advertising a different site and bad mouthing this one. I dont want to be a snitch, but it is upsetting a lot of people. The diary is diaryplace.com

*giggle*

awww.i liked the edit bolding again. and now thanks to you i have that song “The Remedy” by Jason Mraz stuck in my head. you and thesaurus.com must die now!

Not sure if it’s just me or others, but my diary will not space or indent for new paragraphs or lists anymore. Yes, I really am writing enough for it to be a problem haha, I am a prolific writer who needs these paragraph seperations. Just figured I would let you know. — KistiAnn

hahahahahahaha

so if I save a PRIVATE entry and then edit it and change it to a public entry does it show up in bold on a favorites list??? normally i will just make a list of things i want to write about and make it private until i can go back and type out an actual entry.