Monday Zoomtime

Good evening (or morning to some of us),

Just hanging out to monitor the execution of the first automatic removal of inactive diaries (see two entries back for an explanation).

The process has completed, and it removed over 150,000 old unused diaries from the system. This will free up all sorts of space for us, which is a good thing (and I don’t mean the “cleaned out my dryer vent and organized my seed trays for next spring” sort of good thing).

As I said previously, this process will run nightly from now on, so the change in numbers won’t ever be as drastic again. However, this will help to keep OD clean of dust and cobwebs in the future.

In addition, I’ve been tracking server throughput for the last few hours, with the machines running in our shiny new data center. On the face of it, system performance appears to be WAY up – mostly thanks to the improved router infrastructure and better connection to the internet backbone that the new center provides. The sysadmins will be watching this and making adjustments where necessary, but it appears to have been a good move (notwithstanding the unscheduled outage – see one entry back for that).

The DiaryMaster

P.S. – coming tomorrow for Plus members, Diary Chapters…stay tuned. Or maybe Wednesday.

Log in to write a note

If I’ve reported a rules violation by email, how do I know if it was dealt with?

Can’t wait for chapters!! I was just wondering when that would happen.

Chapters! This is exciting!

thanks again! and yay! chapters!

no offense, but are ya’ll gonna get around to fixing my diary anytime soon?

yay! diary chapters!

I will definitely be renewing! I’ve been waiting for the chaptering! Thank you!

I am interested in moving up from a fod to an od+ and I was wondering how much it cost for 1 year and where I have to send my check to

ooooo! cool! isabel

Is there a way of making a note that was left public in your diary private without making the entire entry private? Just making notes on ONE entry private, even if it was made a public note in the beginning?

I’m so sorry to be so nerdy, but, I’m new, and while perusing all the super rad diaries (besides mine), I noticed that some authors had pictures on their description pages.. *is sad* I want one too!! please tell me how. Email at thedandiestofthemall@hotmail.com. Thanks love.

I had left a note earlier the entry which is two before this one. I still had the question as to how to get my diary unarchived. I had no idea these were going to be deleted, because in the past, they never had been before. Please let me know! It means a lot to me. Thank you. Learning2Fly

Please respond to my note. I know you get lots of notes on here but I really would like to write in my diary! My diary name is New*days and I just changed my password the other day and can’t remember it! Please! If you’ll look, I haven’t logged in or written since I lost my password! I can give you any info you might need since it used to be called cool*things and I was on OD+ member then!!!

Hi. 🙂 I looked on the help bar but I saw no emails to send about this: What happens if you remember your password to your diary but forget your name?!?! Yesterday I renamed an old diary and emptied out all the entries… but… now I forgot the name of it, and the password helper emailed my password but not the name of my diary… x_X (It’s an OD plus diary.)

I know we aren’t supposed to leave you notes about stuff but you don’t have a form for “suggestions”…this is not a rules violation or a technical issue. Well..it COULD be a tech issue but it’s not THAT important..just annoying. The random entry feature. It’s really annoying getting the same 4 people over and over again (within a couple hours times I still get the same people). It’s…

…always done that. Maybe after you get all of the new features added, you might want to check out working on the random thing.

“In addition, I’ve been tracking server throughput for the last few hours, with the machines running in our shiny new data center.” i dont understand this. please write me a note about it. thank you.

Hey! You have a great idea for this:D I think that’s good, delete people that haven’t used their for a month or something unless they had entries saying that I won’t be on for a long time or something:D keep it up!

how do i put music on my diary? some people have it so that music plays when you enter their diary.

i just wanted to congratulate you on your site…i know you prolly get thanked all the time…but a little appreciation can’t harm..so thank you for having this,and spending so much time taking care of it…i’m sure keeping this thing up isn’t as easy as hopscotch…so there! thanks and have an awesome week!

I am not sure if asked you about this, but if I did I never got a response back. I was wondering if you can put something next to each note a persons leaves so that you can put a check mark nesxt to the ones you dont want and delete the. Than put a delet thing on the bottom of the page. I hope you get what I mean because it can get anoying to have to go to each entry you want to delete

a persons note. Let me know what you think. If you dont like my idea try something that will.

Is the notice about changing passwords because of security danger for real?