Postponing

DiaryMistress and I were supposed to be going on vacation next week to Disney World – with all that is going on with the coronavirus, I cancelled the reservation last night. Luckily, had to do it five days in advance to not be charged and it was still five days.

We are very disappointed that we are not going, but in reality I think there is a good chance they will close the parks next week anyway – they closed all the Disney parks in Asia several weeks ago when things were bad there.

It would have been nice to get some warmth and sunshine – but we will go another time. The last few nights we have fallen down a YouTube hole of watching videos from a number of different channels, with people at the parks reviewing the rides and restaurants – which has been fun. Hard to believe how much content is produced just about Disney World!

Whatever becomes of the next few weeks, we are living in an interesting time – no doubt. I hope that all of you and your families stay safe and well! I do hope that all of the closures and cancellations we are seeing happening this week will reduce the spread of the virus in a way that will keep it less than previous epidemics.

I’m of two minds about what is going on – on one hand I remember well the H1N1 pandemic in 2009, in which thousands died in the US – and our response as a society was much more measured, less panic for sure, and no cancellations or closures like what is happening now. Which makes me wonder if we are over-reacting – but on the other hand, if “over-reacting” makes it so thousands -don’t- die this time around, then maybe it is not over-reacting at all.

Until we get better at preventing diseases like this from happening in the first place, this may be the future that we live in for awhile. We shall see.

Log in to write a note
March 12, 2020

I guess it’s a good idea that you cancelled your trip, but forgive me, I’m wondering if all this anxiety over COVD-19 is just mass hysteria. While there are reported death tolls, the flu kills, too, and many of the people who died were elderly or had suppressed immune systems.

March 12, 2020

@justamillennial yes, I wonder the same thing but only time will tell I suppose.

March 15, 2020
March 12, 2020

Considering Italy closed it’s borders, I think we are not reacting enough. Our mortality rate for this is much higher than elsewhere in the world. I’m not scared but I do feel our “govt” such as it is, is blowing this off and it will end up costing thousands of lives that didn’t have to end. (my two cents)

March 12, 2020

@snarkle I agree that the government, as it is, has really dropped the ball on this – there is so much that could have been done to prepare, that was not!

March 12, 2020

@thediarymaster yep! And all the folks hoarding toilet paper, Lysol, and hand sanitizer are not making it better. I swear panicky people are dangerous

March 12, 2020

I think if people just do what the WHO says to do we will be fine and no one who doesn’t have underlying issues will be fine…but even those who do will be fine also…Just follow the protocols and then there won’t be any mass hysteria.  One day at a time and time will take care of it’s self.

March 12, 2020

@jaythesmartone yes I agree – but part of the problem is that I am very close to some people who are elderly and do have underlying issues – and it is possible to carry this virus and show little or no symptoms. So better safe than sorry, in my case 🙂

March 12, 2020

@thediarymaster

I know…But I think you will be okay…..Because you are still young enough…..

March 12, 2020

@jaythesmartone haha yes I guess that’s true (sort of)!

March 12, 2020

Sorry you had to cancel your trip to Disney World 🙁 But it’s better safe than sorry, I suppose. I hope you will be able to reschedule your trip soon–Disney World is one of my favorite places ever!

I think, as far as the virus is concerned, the government has really dropped the ball on it. With the CDC gutted before any of this ever happened, it’s not really a wonder.

March 12, 2020

@soldis it is one of our favorite places too!

What was done with the CDC was one of many avoidable mistakes leading up to this…

March 12, 2020

The family and I visited Disney World many, many years ago and the trip is a happy memory. We stayed in a motel in Kissimmee and if I remember correctly (which is questionable [age]) a bus picked us up at the motel and took us to the park.

COVID-19 is causing such havoc! According to KENS, “The San Antonio Spurs’ most arduous season in recent memory has been suspended indefinitely due to coronavirus.” There is a huge fan base in SA.

And, Lackland AFB is a quarantine center here which has caused a lot of news. Some quite bad.

March 12, 2020

@theobscure yes it has certainly taken over the news for sure. We try to get to Disney World every few years, it is always a good time for us especially now that we don’t have small children to chase around 🙂

March 12, 2020

Meanwhile, our government won’t bring in the social distancing measures many think we need because they think that by the expected peak people will be bored by the rules and just ignore them

March 12, 2020

@williamthebloody it’s like they’re wearing blinders I swear

March 12, 2020

First hand reports from Italy reveal a terrifying nightmare.  Triage consigns older, or physically impaired people to the “untreated” group – not given life support such as ventilators or other ICU equipment.  That limited supply is reserved for the younger patients.
This disease is not similar to the ”normal” flu.  Distancing yourself from others is wise.  Blocking travel from affected zones is a good Federal move.  But more than that is needed to minimize potential deaths.  Each person needs to take responsible actions to protect both themselves and their fellow citizens.  Do the right thing for everyone’s sake.

March 12, 2020

@trunorth all of that is true for sure!

March 12, 2020

I’m sorry you have to postpone your trip.

March 13, 2020

@gypsywynd thanks – turns out it was just as well, since they announced last night they are closing Disney World for the duration!

March 13, 2020

@thediarymaster I heard that on the news last night, and thought of you.  Hopefully, it won’t be for too long.

March 12, 2020

We used to go to Disney world all the time when our son was younger. Now that he’s grown its the last place on earth I’d rather be. Ha!

March 13, 2020

@dancingthrough ha that’s understandable – although, we have found going as adults without children can be a lot of fun 🙂

Good idea. I live in FL and all the theme parks in Orlando are closing. It almost feels like a ghost town in this state. Hopefully you’ll come back when this is all over.

March 16, 2020

@seablue4u we will come back for sure – just figures that we finally had a vacation scheduled at exactly the time the parks would be closed 🙂 All for the best to not be having the crowds for sure!

March 14, 2020

Your prophecy is true.

March 16, 2020

@queenofegypt it is!

March 18, 2020

I cannot even comprehend the global hysteria in response to this. But here in Europe, things are literally on lock down. My husband is now permanently working from home as of today. Our kids are out of school and home with us. Restaurants are closing. The government is giving small business owners grants to try to keep them solvent. I’m a small business owner and I’m grateful that they’ll be doing this but it’s a sobering reality that many of my fellow small business owners will be watching their business dry up. Regardless of how this plays out, there are so many lessons we all can take from this. I just hope we learn them.

March 18, 2020

@pulchritude I hope we do too, our state went on lockdown two days ago and will be for at least a month – I do worry a lot about the small businesses, so many of them won’t survive this without help.

March 26, 2020

We had plans to go to Disneyland this week and it’s postponed until September (at least for now). It’s a trip we had saved up for for 5 years, so it’s very disappointing.

March 26, 2020

@angelgirl03 I’m hope you do get to go in September!