Testing updates

A few updates for everybody as you are testing, please read below:

1) Some of you (Jubey, Tux, and Maui Jim, that I’ve seen) have not set your diaries to public or friends only – your diary privacy is still set to private, so nobody can see your entries. There is a bug that is allowing these private diaries to post entries on the front page, which we are fixing – but if you want other users to see your entries, you need to change your diary privacy under Profile (under the main menu) and then Settings.

2) Many of you are noticing slowness when posting entries and notes – this is because we are running an import to bring the rest of the diaries from the old site into the new databases, and this is running 24/7 right now to update the data. We are adding thousands of entries and notes to the site every hour, and this is very laborious for the servers.

When we started testing, we had already migrated the diaries for this testing group, but we are currently bringing the rest of the data over. This process may take another couple weeks, as there are millions of notes an more than a million entries. When this import is done, the site will run at proper speed – but in the meantime, sorry for the inconvenience of slower posting.

3) We’ve had a number of bugs reported already (thanks!) which are ticketed in our system and being worked on. I will let you know here as those are fixed. Some of these are:

  • Private diaries are still showing entries on the front page (see above)
  • Clicking the notification icon when on an entry shows the mute user dialog
  • The timestamp when you post an entry should be when you save the entry, not when you start writing
  • When typing a new note, the cursor appears in the “Enter” text in the note box
  • Previous/Next entry links don’t work right when there are more than one entry in a day
  • Profile/Settings menu is messed up when clicking on Membership settings
  • When replying to a reply, the note box appears above the reply instead of below
  • A number of issues with the editor toolbar, including formatting of ordered lists, Shift+Enter not working, etc.
  • Editor toolbar blocking right-click when editing

4) Due to the last two above, we are thinking about changing the entry editor – we originally liked the popup toolbar we have because it seemed pretty slick, but in practice it is causing some problems. We may switch this out for a more traditional toolbar in the near future.

5) We’ve also had some great suggestions on styling, navigation, and other changes – all of which will be considered for making the site easier to use.

6) If you haven’t tried using the site on your phone, please do – the site is fully mobile-responsive, so we would like to have people test it there as well (for those wondering, we are also developing a mobile app for Open Diary which will be released hopefully at or near the time of the public launch).

Thanks again so much for testing, it has been very helpful already!

Log in to write a note
October 2, 2017

I first accessed the new OD and wrote my first entry all on my iPhone, and it went pretty smoothly. Thank you!

October 2, 2017

The notification icon alerts me when someone requests or accepts friending, but does not indicate when someone has left a note on a post. I get an email telling me someone has commented, but it might be nice to have that indicated in notifications, too.

October 2, 2017

Yes, we are planning on adding notifications for new comments, and for if a friend of yours posts a new entry – that will be coming. Thanks!

October 2, 2017

My first comment on here about posting from my phone seems to have disappeared. 🤔

October 3, 2017

There goes @kvetch, kvetching again! 😜

October 3, 2017

@janesays *grumblegrumble* My first comment was very complimentary about the mobile interface, so now my two remaining comments just look… on brand, I guess. 😎

October 3, 2017

@kvetch Oi oi! I was just kidding witchoo 😀

October 3, 2017

@janesays It’s all good… it gave me warm fuzzies to be told I was kvetching again.

October 3, 2017

It WAS a very nice note about the mobile interface – I read it on my mobile this morning! I wonder if maybe I accidentally hit Delete while I was reading it (which leads me to think we need a confirmation for deletion on notes).

October 2, 2017

I noticed (though I could have been doing it wrong) that I couldn’t copy and paste an entry in. I’m one of those few (apparently) people who never lost an entry before, since I never typed directly into the site. I write in Word or other program and then copy and paste it in after saving it myself along the way. Is this because of that toolbar? Just wondering. I have a paranoia about losing writing. Many other paranoia issues, too, but that is off-topic 😉

October 3, 2017

Do you right-click to paste? If so, I wonder if pressing Ctrl + V would work instead?

I was able to paste an entry on my phone, but that’s a different interface.

October 3, 2017

⚽🐓

SOCCER CHICKEN

October 3, 2017

Well, as long as I’m kvetching… is there a reason my “Where Does It Hurt” entry doesn’t show up on the front page? It does on the mobile site. (Is it because I quoted someone else’s work?)

October 3, 2017

@kvetch No, nothing against your entry – it seems we have a random bug where entries show up on the front page, and then don’t (same thing happened to me last night). We are looking into this.

October 3, 2017

Is there a way to tell who has clicked on the heart icon on an entry? Or at least to get notified that someone has “hearted” your entry?

October 9, 2017

I just arrived 🙂

I have a few questions (and quite a bit of feedback already) but my main one is – where should we actually be submitting feedback?  I’ve been trying to read through entries, etc (and admittedly am having a hard time navigating the site and finding things – it’s a bit overwhelming and there aren’t enough tooltips or indicators of what things actually do or mean).

October 9, 2017

The best place to submit feedback is through the Contact Support link at the bottom of any page – that way, it will get into our ticketing system as an “official” request. Thanks!

October 9, 2017

@thediarymaster Okay.  As fair warning, I work in software now, so I have a lot of opinions 😉

Also – if I turn off the email notifications, I’ll still get notifications under the bell icon, right?  And do those notifications also persist in the activity log?  I actually never saw this note, and there’s no real ‘my notes’ list that I can see.

October 9, 2017

@asilliamagdalene we are actually adding back the My Notes section based on feedback from earlier testing, so you will see that in the near future. Yes, the notifications will show up under the bell – but we are adding some more there as well (for if a friend of yours posts an entry, and if somebody replies to your comment even if they don’t @ mention you.

October 14, 2017

I have no problem with OD on my phone but it will not let me log in on my ipad … any idea why?

October 18, 2017

@~seafarer we are looking into the iPad problem, that has been reported by a couple people.

October 18, 2017

That is fantastic about the app! I look forward to that, but in the few hours I have had to look around on both my computer and iPhone, it has ran great. A little slow at times, but still good!

October 18, 2017

The slowness is because we are currently importing all the millions of entries and notes from the old site into this one – that should be finished in a week or so, and then the performance will be much more snappy. Thanks!

November 29, 2017

I’m loving everything!!! :*)

November 30, 2017

I have tried it from my iPhone, iPad and laptop. I am finding its pretty easy o matter where I access it from. I just wish there was an easier way to navigate the site. Going to my profile page to access everything seems difficult.

December 1, 2017

@sillysillysandee glad to hear you are finding it easy on other devices! I totally agree about the profile page, we are working on a new design for that that will split it apart and make it easier.

December 1, 2017

@thediarymaster that would be so wonderful. I’m sure that in time it would be second nature but aren’t we all looking for easier ways to do things? The site seems to be working well though. ❤️