Update and thanks

Just wanted to post a quick entry to let you all know where we are at.

We completed the move of our site to a larger and faster server environment this afternoon. This appears to have eliminated the timeout problems that we had been suffering from over the last few days. I have been testing entry and note posting for several hours, without seeing any errors. Of course, if any of you see such errors, let us know as soon as possible.

The attempted recovery of our first 100 members entries file continues – I froze processing on that file as soon as we detected the problem on Sunday, and it has not been touched or affected by our move. That file remains on our old server, and we have escalated the situation to the highest level of Microsoft’s SQL Server support technicians. They will continue to work to find a solution.

I have also taken the diary import facility offline temporarily. Due to the change in server environments, some parts of the import program have to be changed. We also want to do some additional testing to determine server load that this facility will use going forward. I hope to have that finished so the utility can be running again tomorrow.

In addition, I want to say a truly heartfelt thanks to all of you who have left notes or sent us e-mail over the last two days, offering your support. Once again, you have all proven to me what a truly fine community of people this is. Your positive thoughts and comments have gone a long ways to help get us through a couple of difficult days.

Also, I want to publicly thank the members of our staff and our server administrators, for all the hours and effort they have put in. I must say, it’s wonderful to know there are so many other people who believe in this community as I do. Finally, my thanks to the DiaryMistress, my partner – she knows how much her help and support mean to me and this site, and I couldn’t do it without her.

Log in to write a note