Suspicious Lesions

Today I had a dermatology appointment to have some “suspicious lesions” removed. Four of them, to be exact. In a week or so I will know whether or not they are cancerous. The numbing agent has worn off of two of the four spots and I am considering giving myself a small shot of lidocaine in all the areas so I wont wake up in the middle of the night hurting. I really hope these “suspicious lesions” come back benign. I’ve had enough cancer this year (well, last year since 2018 is still new) and am using every excuse I can find to avoid being forced into chemo and/or radiation. I had a hysterectomy and bilateral oophorectomy almost two months ago to try to avoid chemo for ovarian and endometrial cancers. I hope to be so lucky this time by having the lesions removed. The dermatologist says there are a few other places that he’d like to take off but wants to wait until the pathology results come back before making any decisions. I said that’s fair.

When I got home from work Ed had dinner made and the kids had already eaten. I told him I was going to be late so he started without me which is fine. I ate a few bites but wasn’t really that hungry. Aidan went to play a game at the home of someone from church. I dont really know the guy but Ed does so it’s okay. Ed drove him over and then we sat in our hot tub for a while watching the pinks and oranges of the sunset sky fade into a dark indigo.

I really enjoy my time with my husband and lately we have resorted to spending our time in the hot tub on the back patio. We both ache — him from old age (he is 32 years older than I am) and me from long hours on my feet.

Emma has been holed up in her room reading a book since I came home. I saw her briefly, a flash of red hair running down the stairs. I’ve learned to let moody teens do their thing. If I know my daughter, she will be upstairs hunting for a snack soon so I don’t feel too badly about leaving her to her own devices downstairs. Trying to pry her nose out of a book is like trying to pull teeth from a wet cat.

The Olympics officially start today but the opening ceremony isn’t until tomorrow. I can hear commentary on something now. Ed is in the living room which is on the other side of my office wall. I dont know what he is watching specifically but I heard the Olympic song. We will probably watch the opening ceremony but I’m certainly not going to set a reminder or program the DVR for it.

A few girls from school are going to see Fifty Shades tomorrow. Ed says I should go. I haven’t made up my mind. I work tomorrow until noon so I think I might want to sleep more than I want to see a movie. I’m feeling really fatigued and just want to sleep.

I am doing a CAL (crochet-along) for the Checkerboard Textures Throw (henceforth known as CTT) pattern by RedHeart. You can find the pattern here if you’re interested. Anyway, I have wanted to make it for 2-3 years and since I have been going to my Wednesday night SNB (stitch-n-bitch) get together I decided I needed a bigger project. I started the first square yesterday then finished it up today. One down, nineteen to go. My goal is to do two squares per week. Originally I wanted to make three squares per week and make three of this project and be done by Christmas. I was going to make one for myself and each of the kids. I have decided I am just making one for myself instead. The kids have so many things already. I might just quilt new blankets for them for Christmas. I will have more time on my hands in another three weeks once the first block of my semester is finished. We are on week 5 of 8 for block one. I only have one class, lab and clinical for block two so I will be able to work on my CTT more. I really like to sit here at my desk watching Netflix and crochet. It’s relaxing before bed.

Speaking of bed, I know it’s only 1908hrs but I am beat so I think I am going to turn in early. I hope y’all have had a wonderful day.

Until next time…
M

Log in to write a note